So What Has Been Happening?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Dalhart
August 26th 2012
Published: August 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hi there to you all or as they say in Texas " Howdy y'all".

I'm in truck driving withdrawl! Can you believe it?! Yes truck driving withdrawl. I don't get it either, but there you go. The last time I drove my truck, P22, was the 17th July when I drove back from El Reno to Amarillo and delivered my baby to the truck doctor for a check up from the deck up. When it did finally come home after having a cracked axel housing repaired ( that's like a fracture in one of your bones OK), somebody else got to drive it because I seem to be a rather good at being a go-for. Yup that is now my station in life, a go-for. I go for this and go for that all day long. Last week that meant driving to Friona and back twice in 24 hours. No a short jaunt at 300 miles round trip.

To be quite honest though I'm quite enjoying helping out where I can. This morning I was the grease lacky helping one of my colleagues replace a wheel bearing and break pads. It's really interesting because I have never done anything like this ever. On Friday we needed to reinstal a Kernal Processor into a Chopper. That meant I needed to manouvre the telehandler ( a forklift with a telescopic arm) with the hydraulics through a wee gap in the side of the Chopper with this 1 ton KP dangling from it. Never a dull moment is all I can say.

In addition to this I have published an Employee Survey and have been busy compiling the results. The six page survey asks all sorts of questions about how people are made welcome upon their arrival, about the company and so on. I am pleased and relieved that some people have contributed some wonderful suggestions instead of making it into a grip session. Some people have been a grippy but that's ok we can find the constructive comment in there somewhere.

I learnt some time ago that if there is a problem it's usually to do with one of two things. Either it's people problem or it's a system problem. Most times people will react negatively if they don't have a process or system to follow. Give people guidelines or a process and they will tend to be less disruptive. Then there are the people problems and most often it's an attitude issue stemming from personal issues. That means that it's never simple to find the solution with people but it sure helps narrow down the root cause of the upset in someone.

The last 6 weeks has meant that I have worked from home and around the yard. This has allowed me to catch up with myself. Get plenty of rest, relax, do some drawing and edit some of my photos as well. I haven't wanted to go anywhere because it's so far to go to get anywhere and I would rather save my money towards my own home.

In myself I feel centered. I still take drugs and probably will for sometime to come. I have had a few down periods which have pushed me to have a conversation with myself to ask "What set that off Nigel?". I have to be honest and say that looking back into the past is what sets me off the easiest. So when I see that mood coming or reflecting about what has gone, I can (most times) have a chat with myself then change the situation and prevent myself slipping into that lonely black place. Sounds easy doesn't it? It's far from easy I must say but it's a strategy that I have that works. So if it aint broke don't fix it.

I often find that a pearl of wisdom can come from the most unlikely places.

Here is one of them. This is the link to the Sunscreen Song. I find myself coming back to the lyrics time and again for confirmation that my chances like everybody elses, 50/50. Have a listen and see if something pops up from the song for you. It's worth listening to.



If you want a movie that will leave you in a conteplative mood, then watch this movie directed by Guy Ritchie called "Revolver". You need to watch the whole movie to get what it's about but it's really worthwhile watching. A real twist at the end.

Here is a quote that I have taken from the movie. "Your friends are close but your enemy is closer".

So where to from here? Well in just 42 days I leave the USA and return to Nelson spend time with my Mum & Dad. If you have listened to the Sunscreen Song then doing this will make sense to you. I want to go and see Jessie on my way to Melbourne where I will be met at the Airport by Briar and Meg (26th October, I think). From there I plan to get my heavy truck licenses in Australia and secure a job in South Australia for the summer then return to the USA in 2013. That is as far as my plan stretches. Even I will have to wait for the next installment.

May God bless you in abundance.



Nigel.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0661s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb