Sauna on Wheels and a Confession within


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Dalhart
June 9th 2011
Published: June 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

With temperatures in the mid to high 90s the ride home each night without aircon in the car (or my sauna on wheels), makes for one rather unpleasant trip! The thoughts running round my head on these occasions are along the lines of the headlines, "woman found melted in car, on side of road"! Trent, one of our bosses, is the guy apparently who can fix my aircon problem and has said that it's the squeaky wheel that gets fixed, so tomorrow begins the gentle squeaking via text messages until my dilemma is solved!

Added interest to these daily journeys, besides the dead and decaying animal carcasses, is the constant navigation around the remaining bits and pieces of tyre rubber and wire. These an range from tiny spindly bits to pieces as big as a tyre itself! Just hope I'm not around when one of these trucks blow a tyre, although it must be something reasonably dramatic , if not dangerous to witness. At least there haven't been any broken trucks on the side of the road, although nothing would surprise me here!

And now we come to the confession, albeit not very well hidden. When reading this I want you all to keep the following in mind...Phobia - an intense and persistent fear of certain situation, activities, things, animals or people. The main symptoms of this disorder is the excessive and unreasonable desire to avoid the feared subject.
So next to driving on the wrong side of the road, it could possibly have been the one thing I lived in fear and trepidation of and was totally freaking out about doing here in the States and something that I have managed to avoid doing myself for close to 30 years. I had discussed this issue with Paul before we came over and he assured me that I would have to do it even though I was sure I could find someway of continuing to avoid doing so myself. And now after just over one month of being here I am pleased to report that I have pretty much, finally conquered my fear/phobia of filling the car with petrol! Yes it is true, until coming to America, I have never done this myself! And now I am doing it every week! Still a little nervous I might add, but doing it! And without help! And before you all have a small fit over this, just stop and realize how very close I come to not publishing this fact and that it has taken several weeks to do said publishing!
But as I have thought on many occasions that I am only here for the entertainment of those Im working for, maybe I have been a small but entertaining part of your day. I will endeavor to elaborate on this in my next blog, until then... Happy trails.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb