Texas Indepedence Trail Day 1: Austin


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Austin
March 10th 2013
Published: January 31st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Today is my start on the Texas Freedom Trail!!!

My goal is to visit as many sites that detail the history of Texas from its beginnings as a Spanish territory to a Mexican state to its own Republic of Texas and finally a state in good ol' US of A!

I started very close to home in Round Rock, where the Chisholm Trail crossed a little bubbling brushy creek. The landmark, a weirdly shaped round rock in the middle of the creek, gave Round Rock its name. I also headed over to the cemetery to view outlaw Sam Bass's grave marker. Apparently he was notorious for robbing banks.

Next, I visited several museums in the University of Texas including the Texas Memorial Museum to witness Texas Long Ago with its many fossils. My favorites are the Quetzalcoatlus, the biggest pterosaur EVER! And the Onion Creek Mosasaur, a fearsome creature from the seas that covered Texas long long long ago.

After that I gave the Blanton Museum another try. I had originally not been too impressed the first time around but I actually enjoyed it this time. They have some great art work.

I then headed over to the Texas History Museum which is always very informative. I also saw an IMAX movie on the Monarch butterfly, which is the state insect of Texas! They migrate from Canada all the way into deep Mexico. Texas is a literal superhighway for these flying insects.

My last stop this day was at the capital where I paid my respects to my ancestors at the Tejano Monument. I still beam with pride every time I see this awesome monument 😊

As an extra added bonus I was treated to a Gay Marriage march at the capital! Yay equality! I got to see fossils, local history, Texas history, great art by Texans, and all. Great start if I do say so myself!


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



31st January 2014

Fascinating project
We look forward to reading more.

Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0675s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb