The last mile


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Austin
February 25th 2011
Published: February 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

We are all tired and in need of a rest day. Sam said we should be taking a rest day, but since we are close to our goal we press on. We have had some rather nice weather lately, and because of this the cool weather this morning was a shock. When we started off the temp was a balmy 40', burr. I called the front desk last night for a 6:30 wake up call. Bob knocked on our door at 6:55 and we were still asleep. We all rushed around and were still on the road by 7:30 as planned. Since I've lost my coat I had to rethink my clothes for the day. With different arrangements I was ready to leave. We took off on hwy 71 which was highly traveled but with a super wide shoulder. The riding was good but extremely noisy. When we turned off this road we found Jack In The Box for second breakfast. Bob was generous and bought breakfast for all. Mary told me thanks for being so nice to her in the daily blog and I replied the day wasn't over yet. The Wind was out of the north today with a couple of times we had a full-on head wind. What a way to finish the ride! When we made it to the outskirts of Austin The temp was warming up and we were striping off our extra clothes. Since this is the ultimate destination for myself I was hoping to find a city limit sign for Austin. Unfortunately there were none on our route. We were deciding which way to take into town and I had two bananas which I gave one to Sam. I gave half of mine to Mary and Sam was supposed to give half of this to Bob. After a few phone calls and consulting the gps Sam forgot and ate his whole banana without sharing with Bob. Bob was put out to say the least. We have car rentals at the Hertz location downtown. This was a blast riding a bike into. Some of the routes Sam chose were in some rather seedy parts of town. Other than me turning onto a one way street the wrong way we had no real problems. We rode 41 miles today. The entire trip was a total of 1519 miles. When we were at the car rental we started to disassemble our bikes. It looked like a war zone. After 45 minuets we all said our final good byes and headed to our homes. It will be great to sleep in my own bead again.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb