Blanton Museum and Umlauf Sculpture Garden Austin, Texas 2007


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Austin
April 1st 2007
Published: February 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hermes?Hermes?Hermes?

This was my favorite statue.
It was a great day for feeling artsy.

So Rob and I headed out to the Blanton Museum at the UT campus for a stroll. I hadn't been to the museum since it reopened after some architectural fiasco. I really didn't see what the big deal was. Some people complain too much.

The first floor had an exhibit on modern/abstract art from South America. The rest of the floors housed the permanent collection which consisted of reproductions of Greek sculpture and some more abstract art and sculpture. My favorite was a giant pit filled with billions upon billions of shiny copper pennies. I wanted to roll around them, dig my hands deep into them, and put them in my mouth to remind me of the coppery-metallic taste I used to love as a child (Yeah, I was gross.)

Afterwards I finally had the pleasure of going to the Umlauf Sculpture Gardens next to Zilker Park. Great place for a meditative stroll through the gardens and art work. It was fascinating seeing the sun reflecting in the pond with the water lilies in full bloom. Reminded me a lot of Monet's paintings and could see how easily he was
Venus de MiloVenus de MiloVenus de Milo

My arms! I can't feel my arms!
inspired by the beauty of it all.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Stitching AttemptStitching Attempt
Stitching Attempt

I need to get better at this.
PenniesPennies
Pennies

A billion zillion pennies.
BonesBones
Bones

Exhibit of hanging bones.
Umlauf Sculpture GardenUmlauf Sculpture Garden
Umlauf Sculpture Garden

Its easy to see how Monet was inspired to paint from llking at the pond.
Nice FamilyNice Family
Nice Family

I like how the sun is shining down on them.
Fallen AngelFallen Angel
Fallen Angel

This is one of my favorite pieces.


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb