Preparation


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Austin
December 22nd 2005
Published: December 22nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Thailand

We will be in Hong Kong, Bangkok and Chiang Mai.

We are leaving in 8 days, and I still have so much preparation. I have managed to locate 4 large suitcases, and 2 small ones. We are allowed 2 check-ins, and one carry on, so it will work out fine. We will actually only pack one suitcase, and the rest will remain empty (until our return of course 😊 I have made copies of all our paperwork, and registered with the Embassy in Thailand.

Marilyn and Frank have already arrived in Bangkok. We are supposed to meet at our hotel, and get the wherabouts of them from the front desk clerk. It seems like such a primitive form of communication, but we are limited without our cell phones. Troy is wanting to extend our stay in Hong Kong by a day, but I don't know how do-able that will be. We will have to wait and check with the airlines upon arrival.

This is one of the first vacations where our whole agenda is spur of the moment. The only thing set in stone, are the days we'll be in each city. I've done research on places of interest, shopping, etc, but the rest is a play by ear type of thing. It makes me nervous, since I always have a set time agenda, but I'm guessing it will be more fun this way.

Sean, our roommate is dropping us off at the Austin airport. We have to be there by 6 am, on Friday December 30th. From Austin, we will fly to LA, and switch airlines from American to Cathay Pacific. The flight from LA will be about 19 hours, where we will land in Hong Kong (which is where Troy wants to stay a night). We then switch planes, and fly into Bangkok. Arrival time, 27 hours later.

I am so excited. It's still so hard to believe that we are going to Thailand for 2 weeks!!



Advertisement



3rd January 2006

wow
What was I thinking? I can't imagine all that air time. I know it's has to be worth it. Don't forget, "shot glasses" (plural) :) Love U's

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0643s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb