The Starting Line


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Abilene
June 28th 2010
Published: July 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday was my 23rd birthday, and today, the first day of my 23rd year of life, I began walking... A LOT!

I started at KMo's place off of Campus Court in Abilene. She had been letting me sleep on her couch for weeks. I put on my pack and started to walk to a few key points in Abilene before I left. Starting with ACU (right across the street) to get a new school ID. Then to the Bank of America in the Enterprise building to cash a check from my grandparents. Then to the DPS by KMart to get a new driver's license. And because the Texas DPS is so incredibly efficient, I was only there for 5 hours! (note: heavy use of sarcasm)

I think I finally got on the road and started hiking out of Abilene around 3 or 4 pm. Nothing too exciting EXCEPT being chased by a donkey under the Bus 20 & Arnold Blvd elevated switch. I didn't like the idea of walking way up high on those on & off ramps so I walked underneath them. Halfway to the other side I heard what sounded like an extraordinary sneeze. Upon turning around I saw a donkey begin trotting vigorously towards me. I imagine he broke through a fence from the bordering property or something. With a quick expletive squeal, I hobbled as fast as my hiking pack would allow me to the nearest pillar. Giggling uncontrollably, I kept the donkey on the other side of the pillar and eventually had him in prime position for me to jet across to the next set of pillars.

After using the same tactic to dart between 3 or 4 sections of pillars I made it to the steep concrete retaining wall that lead to the highway. Apparently, he already knew he couldn't climb to slick concrete incline and just watched me gasp for breath in between intense giggling.

The rest of the afternoon was pretty uneventful and I managed to make it to Merkel, where I found a cozey corner of an abandoned store, next to a big trucker stop. I chose the corner because I knew the night would be cold and the wind would only make me colder. Turns out, it also made a good hiding place from the cop that drove around the property about 9:30 with his spot light -- I think he was just moving too fast and didn't see me or my gear in the shadows.

The night was indeed cold, but my comfort was inhibited by the bright lights of the large parking lot filled with 30ish 18 wheelers -- who ALL left their trucks running all night! I got sleep, but not a whole lot. It was a new experience...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb