Unfortunate News Alerts...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Tennessee » Nashville
August 10th 2006
Published: August 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, waking up this morning and turning on the news was not the most exciting part of the day today. With just a few more days until we fly out, it was kind of sobering to see that there had been a huge terror plot planned to bomb planes flying between London and the US. As Mitt Romney said during a news interview today, it was good news/bad news. The bad news of course is that it is a dangerous world. The good news is that we're on to these terrorists and that our intelligence people have uncovered the plot.

Personally, I think that the next few days will be among the safest times to fly (hopefully). Hopefully with the heightened security and everybody paranoid and on the lookout, things should be okay. The hardest thing now is just figuring out what we can pack. Apparently, any liquids are out of the question--I guess that goes for my contact solution, bottled water, etc. I suppose that's just a minor inconvenience--a small price to pay for some added security. It looks like people flying out of Heathrow have it worse--apparently they can only take their wallet and passport in a clear plastic baggie. At least we still get to take our laptop (at this point...I hope) to watch movies on.

Jeff Garrison sent me an email this morning telling me that I should probably get to the airport about 4 hours early on Monday...thank goodness we booked an evening flight and not a first-thing-in-the-morning flight! And as I'm typing this, I just got an email from my sister telling me that her company has just sent out an email to all of its employees telling them that they cannot travel to or from the UK until at least 14 August.

Just in case you haven't seen the news, here's a link: http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/4780815.stm

Cheers.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 15; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb