Off the Road Again


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Tennessee » Knoxville
June 11th 2009
Published: June 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So my next leg was another four days of riding, but only ~275 miles this time. Elaine got me prepared by taking me to an art/wine fair the night before I left, and I has happy to oblige her. Southern IL and and KY have been nice and hilly, and forest took over what in most of IL was endless cornfields. I also got on to the Trans Am (a popular cross country route with many cyclists going coast to coast) so I ran into many other folks traveling by bike, though most were travelling west. I spent some time on a bike path off route, where I encountered loads of wildlife including some kind of wild cat (possibly a bobcat, but seemed a little smaller ~40lbs). The next few days were much the same with some small climbing and lots of scenic roads. I stayed one night on some pull off road, the next in a baptist church that was really nice and popular with TransAmers, and the last night at Rough River Dam State Park. On Tuesday afternoon I met Jeff/Jenny in Sonora, KY and we headed towards Knioxville. Last night we went to Phish in Knoxville and today we'll head to Bonnaroo.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



12th June 2009

Tag
So I know we were playing phone tag. So glad to read that you met up with J squared safely. Have fun at Bonnaroo! Love you, e

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.074s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1013.7kb