Rally Observations...


Advertisement
Published: August 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So, I realize its been over a month since I last blogged. I apologize to anyone who's been anxiously waiting on a blog entry...although the only person who's been asking is my mother. 😊 July is now over and I finished my last summer course ending the summer with a 4.0! Which means I am now 3 credit hours (my fall practicum) and taking comps away from being done with my master's degree!! Super excited for December 7, 2012! 😊

July was filled with a few New Student Registration dates, Preview Days for prospective students, and attending a few on campus meetings and sitting on a search committee to fill the open position in my office. I'm super excited for Erika who will be joining us in a few weeks from NJ and is one energetic, hilarious person!

That said, last week was the Hell's Angels reunion in Spearfish and this week it is Sturgis Bike Rally. We have bikers who stay on campus in a few of our halls and we also serve them breakfast on campus. So, my parking lot is currently full of bikes, trailers, etc. I've been amazed at the number of fancy looking trailers around town that people haul their bikes in! Besides this, I've been told people ship or fly their bikes into this area!!! Last night, I took a trip to Wal-Mart to get groceries. Normally this can be entertaining for college students. I'd welcome anyone to come visit during Rally because I about died laughing. All these bikers were roaming around the food aisles completely LOST. They couldnt' find a thing. I went down the popcorn/nuts/alcohol aisle to get some popcorn and while standing there, a guy asked me "is this kind microwaveable?" Not recognizing the brand, I just sort of assumed it was and pointed to the jars of kernels saying "I think those are the only kinds that aren't"...as I exited that aisle I noticed nearly every kind of beer was gone and yet 2 other guys were arguing over "well if you're gonna get beer, you have to go for the good stuff" and another biker-chick with dreads was looking at the wine...venturing on down the baking aisle, I saw 2 guys wandering around completely lost. I stopped and asked if I could help (former 4-Her in me) and they said "yeah, we um we need mustard?" Trying not to lose it, I pointed and said "go about 4 aisles that way..."

Then I got back to the res hall and came out of the girls bathroom when a gal stopped me asking where to do her laundry. Not entirely sure because normally these machines a) don't work at all or well, b) take our ID cards and not coins, I told her to follow me. So we went down to the 3rd floor laundry room and she was telling me that 1st floor was eating quarters. I then said, "I'll swipe my ID if you give me money" and as I was texting the summer conference coordinator he told me quarters should've been working but they'd have someone check it out on Monday. So last night and most of today, I've been swiping my ID and they give me quarters or dollar bills. This last guy I helped, I had to press the buttons for him and stop him from dumping the entire (small) bottle of liquid Tide into the machine. 😊

This week I'm organizing the Downtown Block Party notifications and requests for donations (picking up a bit of slack from others who got too busy this summer...) so that should occupy my time. and I'm looking forward to my family visiting me in a week! Hope your summers are going well! I miss all of you and Kansas, but am quickly realizing that if I choose to job search elsewhere and move further away...this is a reality I'm going to have to deal with!

Advertisement



6th August 2012

Thank you for blogging!
I wondered when you would blog next....thank you! I love hearing about what is happening in your life. Congratulations on a successful summer course and the A! Hugs!
6th August 2012

funny
Loved the descriptions of the bikers and your attempts to help. You should charge an extra quarter for your assistance with laundry. whoever is running stats on this is going to think you have a LOT of dirty clothes!!!

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb