Northeast Trip - Newport Mansions


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Rhode Island » Newport
August 7th 2013
Published: September 11th 2013
Edit Blog Post

More photos at: Picasa



For something completely different, I headed to Newport, RI to check out a couple "Summer cottages". I first went to the Breakers. It's pretty much exactly what you would expect from a Gilded Age mansion, with Italian marble and gold leaf everywhere. (You'll have to take my word for it, they don't allow photography inside the mansion) Somewhat surprisingly the bedrooms are much more subdued than the public areas, although still richly finished including hot and cold running salt water (in addition to fresh). I also toured Rosecliff, which while not quite as over the top is still quite a step above. I was also vaguely amused to note that they always made you exit through the little shop. Also, for the second time (so far) this trip, I managed to time my arrival in a major city to coincide with rush hour. Despite staying on 495 well outside Boston, I still managed to find a couple minor traffic jams.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb