Is it bed time yet?


Advertisement
Published: February 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

I woke up this morning at 8 am so that I would have time to take a shower, eat breakfast, and get myself together before my 9:30 class (yes, I know that's a really long time to get ready). Then I had classes until 12:20, by which time I was about to pass out from hunger. After lunch I had to mail a package, and of course had to stand in the long bookstore line to purchase a box in which to put the package. After that, I had to get a hold of my friend and future roomate so that we could fill out our housing contract for next year, and then help my space-cadet (I mean that in the nicest way possible) neighbor fill hers out. By then it was about 2:00 and I thought I would have the next 45 minutes to get some work done. But then my friend showed up because he needed to print out his philosophy homework. He stayed for like 20 minutes, and then I thought "Ok, 25 minutes to do some reading." Well, after about 5 minutes and one page, my other neighbor came back from class and of course I had to chat with her until it was time to leave for our 3:00 class. I had Psych at 3, and the class itself was as busy as the rest of my day. The professor hardly gave us time to scribble down barely-readable definitions and theories before moving on to her next point, and that's how it went for about an hour. I was practically out of breath when I left a little after 4:00. I THEN finally had some time to get some work done before my boot camp class at 6. 5:40 rolled around and I realized that I didn't actually have time to go to my class, because I had so much to do. I knew I needed a stress reliever, though, so I went anyway. I got back around 7:30 thoroughly exhausted and ready to hopefully finish what I need to finish before I collapse into my bed later tonight. Oh wait, the whole tiny dorm room situation doesn't even allow collapsing into bed because I can't even get into my bed without first climbing on my footstool. It's a rough life here at Villanova :-P

Anyway, the point of my rambling is that today, like many other days, it seemed like there just wasn't enough time. I had to go to four classes. I had to run errands. I had to do things with my friends. I had to exercise. And now I have a pile of books that is laughing at me because even though it is only 8:30, I really just want to go to bed. I can't, though, because that is how life today is. I find that most people are incredibly concerned with cramming as much as they possibly can into one day. And I admit to being the same way. I feel terribly guilty when I am not doing something productive, and I sometimes even set my alarm on the weekend. I wonder what life was like before the days of all-day classes and housing contracts and printing out homework assignments and going to boot camp class. Sometimes I wish I lived in that time--I'd get to go to bed earlier!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0539s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb