My plans are evolving...


Advertisement
Published: October 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

It's been a long week.

At the start of this week the new Spring 2008 "Courses Taught in English" at Uppsala brochure came out. Obviously, because it only just came out, I had to base my course selections and approvals on the 2007 brochure. Apparently it's changed. Now the course I wanted (and the only one I can do) is no longer taught in English. Because of my double degree and lack of electives, that course (which in the Swedish semester is a full semester load) was my only hope.

I was a little disappointed when I found out, having planned to go to Uppsala for over a year. But it's OK, because I can just go across the straight to the University of Copenhagen, which would be just as good, cheaper and in the city. At one point I was considering putting Copenhagen as my first preference anyway. Also the courses there look interesting, I can get credit for them and there's some sociology units which I'm interested in taking.

Turns out applications have closed and there is a seven person imbalance between UWA and Copenhagen exchange students in the bad direction. So... I can't go there either.

That leaves a pile of universities in Norway and Sweden, none of which teaches very much Psychology or Engineering in English. I went through systematically and ruled out each of those possibilities one by one.

So my only choice now is to go to the UK, which I didn't want to do. There's plenty of time for that later. But without any recourse, I looked through the four options. The courses taught in the UK are almost identical to the courses taught at UWA so there's no problem there (and they teach in English - I thought I'd add that because one of the Americans I met here didn't know what the first language was in England...). After moping for a few hours I started looking further into my more preferable option, University College London.

Some benefits of studying at UCL:

1. The university is right smack bang in the middle of London, close to everything.

2. Accomodation is only about the same price as in State College, and it's right in the middle of London (which is ridiculously cheap for London).

3. The way the semester is set up, I'll have three (!) months of holiday during the semester to travel, while at Uppsala I would have had less than two, and at Copenhagen less than 1.

4. They have a course on Transport Planning which focusses on public policy and transport modelling, which is what I'm considering doing for my final year project.

5. It's one of the best universities in the world, tuition alone costs about US$30,000 a year for standard undergraduate students, and I'm getting it for Australian HECS fees.

6. They spell things properly. (I just handed an assignment in in "US English" which actually hurt.)

So I suppose it's gonna be ok. 😊

Advertisement



13th October 2007

Hi
Geez thats a bit of a change mate! hahahah at least you sound like you've nearly got it all sorted out! So are we still going to be able to meet up in thE UK? Me and scott will be ther in June 2008'ish i think. Renan... i have 2 weeks of uni left EVER!!! And all my classes have been cancelled this week lol! But i also have the small matter of a thesis which is due in 2 weeks! I have lit review and theory nearly done, and wiht any luck the entire thing will be complete and sitting on grimes desk to edit by this friday! (very optimistic) Talk to you soon.
14th October 2007

Hey
Yeh mate I'll be around in June, just email me close to the time and we'll organise to catch up. Congrats on your thesis! Have to be optimistic. See you in June

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0805s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb