The Birthday Party


Advertisement
Published: June 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So I went to my wife's friend's son's birthday party. Did you get all that?? A 4 year old. Not my wife's friend, but her son. Okay. So I'm at this party...very casual, mostly a family kind of thing. The 4 year old greets us at the door. Tyler proudly announces that it's his birthday and immediately runs away. There is no one around in the kitchen (you enter in the back of the house), but we hear voices from a far.
I have this college assignment to study people and cultures. I'm surrounded by at least 8 family members (not my family, but Tyler's) and starting to feel self conscious that I'm the outsider. The husband starts cooking dogs and burgers on the grill, then leaves to go pick up pizza for the kids. Hmmm....The grill's still on and flames are starting to build. The wife says she'll get it, but doesn't. There's a 21 yr old male drinking Smirnoff Ice (alcoholic drink). Not that that is all so strange, but his voice is very high...Like an umpa loompa. The grandmother decides to open the grill (with flames showing) and almost burns down the house.
No casualties, but I was glad when it was time to go. By the way, I wound up extinguishing the flames, salvaging the burgers and dogs and actually cooked more a little later. No flames thank you.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0658s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb