Gettysburg!


Advertisement
Published: July 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Nice Butt!Nice Butt!Nice Butt!

we were stuck behind.. this behind :)
After traveling about 500 miles (and a one night stop over in New York) we arrived in Gettysburg, PA. What a drive! It's just mountains, fields, barns and cows for most of the way. I never knew how rural New York state is! WHOA!

We spent the day at the Gettysburg National Park Visitors Center. This is a brand new, state-of-the-art building. The building is very impressive and enormous! Jim and I kept seeing people dressed in period outfits because the reinactment is going on this weekend. We saw a quick movie about the Battle of Gettysburg (for those not history-minded, it was a turning point in the Civil War), saw the museum, and toured the battle grounds on a self-tour.

The movie was about 15-20 minutes and it basically was a refresher course on the Civil War and the Battle of Gettysburg. It was narrated by Morgan Freeman and was worth the 6 bucks each that we paid for it. It was a nice overview of the entire battle.

When we walked through the Gettysburg museum, we thought, "Oh, this won't take long to go through.." but it was absolutely captivating. It took us almost 2 hours to see the whole thing! It was a multi-media museum, with artifacts, movies, and computer interactive games.

For the self-tour, basically, you get into your car and drive from point to point on a map. At each stop you can read a little bit about what happened at that site. We did the car tour last on the trip, at that point both Jim and I were EXHAUSTED! We skipped some of the sites, got lost a couple times, and saw more monuments than we could possibly count or take pictures of.

On a side note, right after the movie and before going to the museum, Jim and I went to Eisenhower's home. He had a permanent residence in Gettysburg. It was pretty much a BIG farm with a few amenities, like a putting green and it's own man-made pond.

NEXT STOP TENNESSEE!


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Bethany and some womanBethany and some woman
Bethany and some woman

one of the many people dressed in Civil War period attire.
I Like Ike Cow VersionI Like Ike Cow Version
I Like Ike Cow Version

Ike LOVED cows! This was used to contain cows so that they could be easily groomed.
Eisenhower's BarnEisenhower's Barn
Eisenhower's Barn

Steve and mom would have drooled over this one.
I like cows...I like cows...
I like cows...

just not as much as Ike.
BABY COW.BABY COW.
BABY COW.

this is why I DO NOT eat Veal!
Putting GreenPutting Green
Putting Green

Here you go Dad! How'd you like this in your backyard?
Ike's TractorIke's Tractor
Ike's Tractor

pretty sure he didn't do any of the manual labor on the farm, though.
Union FlagUnion Flag
Union Flag

God bless America.
Eternal FlameEternal Flame
Eternal Flame

This was dedicated to those lost in the Battle of Gettysburg (over 20 thousand died!)
Photo 16Photo 16
Photo 16

more battle field, it's amazing that this beauty harbored such a horrible battle.
Cemetery RidgeCemetery Ridge
Cemetery Ridge

The Union held it's position in this area after being pushed back from the Confederate soldiers.
Eisenhower's Gas StationEisenhower's Gas Station
Eisenhower's Gas Station

How much is gas here?
Civil War MemorialCivil War Memorial
Civil War Memorial

Abraham Lincoln gave his incredible Gettysburg Adress HERE! RIGHT HERE! UNBELIEVABLE!


7th July 2008

First stop
Dear Beth and Jim, I am so happy to hear your trip is off to a great start! My sister has asked to be added to the jounal. I hope you both have the trip of a lifetime! Take care Dennis
7th July 2008

Hope you have fun!
This blog thing is a good idea. I will miss you far less. I hope you guys have a great trip! Love you!
7th July 2008


Wow you did a lot in just a couple days! I always love going to new places and learning about new things. I'm glad you're enjoying your trip so far. The Baby Cows are so adorable! Love, Cynthia
7th July 2008

I am sooooo jealous!!!
Hi Beth and Jim, This is FANTASTIC! I feel like I am in the back seat with you on your incredible journey... Sorry we didn't touch base before you left...I am sure you were crazy as were we. Derek now wants to put a putting green in our backyard after seeing Ike's. I told him that would have to wait. I can't wait to see more pictures of the sites. Please continue to write great descriptions and post pictures of EVERYTHING (with some exceptions, of course...he he). I will BLOG you soon! Jenn
10th July 2008

great pictures
Bethany I always knew you could have been a great journalist. This just proves how right I was. Great Job as always!! Cann't wait to see more. Continue having a blast and don't forget to call your Mother. LOVE YOU and MISS YOU BOTH!!!
11th July 2008

7 week road trip - has to be the coolest thing i've ever heard - me u jess and stuff should def get together when u come back!!! :)

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0717s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb