Who Says You Can't Go Home?


Advertisement
Published: December 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Who says you can't go home? It's a funny feeling, although I think the funny feeling comes from there being no feeling at all. It's weird. I spent four months away from home. Not just at University a few hours, a University across the ocean, thousands of miles away. For some reason, being back in the United States, in PA, in a room bymyself, with the most comfortable bed ever...isn't as exciting as I was expecting. I was excited about coming home. The charm had worn off London and about two weeks ago I realized i was ready to come home. But now that I'm here, it feels like I never left. Everything feels normal, like I just got back from a week vacation.

There's taht eerie feeling about unpacking. Twenty-four hours ago I was in London, England. That's crazy. All of these clothes, gifts, suitcases....they were in London with me. Now I am unpacking this life into my closet that has been idly waiting for me since August. THe other thing, is that unpacking seems pointless. In one short month, I will be repacking (probably garbage bags) to drive myslef down to Arcadia University in Glenside, Pennsylvania. I'm going to have to get used to this. This.....practice for being the best packer and mover in the world? Is taht what I can call it? For the next four years I'm going to have to pack and unpack my life every four to six months....everything.

Seeing friends and family is just like it's always been. THis time i have something exciting to talk about, but everything is same. People are taller, hair is shorter...but ultimately everything is the same...we picked everything up where we left off. It's not what I was expecting. I'm not going to lie, im let down, I was hoping for big changes, for things to be weird and different and something to get used to. I thought that was what was supposed to happen when you went away to college...isn't it?

Who knows....? For now, I'm unpacking my room and cleaning it in the process of all the rubbish I've kept for so long and realize now I really don't need. I'm not going to be the pack rat. I'm enjoying something I haven't in the past four months...a couch...A COUCH, meals with people, and working on that extra weight I put on. Besides that, I just hit the ground running...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.324s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 16; qc: 72; dbt: 0.1923s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb