Time to fly south


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Pennsylvania » Canadensis
January 15th 2013
Published: January 18th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


South to Florida



I was ready to head south in more ways than one. Just coming back from a cruise with the grand kids I realized how much I miss the sun in the winter. Our winters have been gray, cold and rainy lately and it’s just SO depressing. Since I have my wheels, it’s off to FL I go.



There was a snow storm overnight that dumped 5 ½” on us but the roads were cleared and I threw last minute bags in the van and was off by 10am. Even hooking up the car in about 10 min double and triple checking the connection. Remember to turn the key on one click so the front wheels turn, trans in neutral and brake off. I locked the car door because it dawned on me that someone could steal the car when I went into a store.



There was no traffic at all and in no time I was south of Harrisburg. I decided to take Rt 81 south for a change, the scenery is beautiful. But it seems that Mother Nature had another storm brewing. The first big snow of the winter was hitting the south and I was going to be in it. I drove 475 miles and ended up in Ft. Criswell, VA at the only rv park still open. Spent the night, had a shower, walked Oscar and was on the road by 8 as the news had the storm ready to dump 8 to 10” of snow starting about 3pm.

By 1pm I was in Ringgold, GA and their forecast was for snow but non that would stick to the ground.



I may spend 2 nights here and sight see or head south to join some friends at the Tampa RV show. I’ll see how I feel in the morning. Right now I’m tired, having driven in constant driving rain and pushing to keep away from the snow, total of 778 miles.



I unhooked the car and drove to Walmart for some food and a tarp. I left my door mat under the snow at home and looked for one of those to no avail. It was WONDERFUL having my car here. It felt like driving a roller skate after driving the camper, I just darted in and out and around. The store was fun, talking to people here seeing how different life is. They drive slower, let you in, bring their carts to the corral, and are just calmer, pleasant.



Came back to the camper, fed Oscar, then started the blog.



Oscar has been sleeping for 2 days, about what he does at home when it’s raining.



I now have a new destination tomorrow. My tv quit so it is back to Walmart, get one to kinda fit the spot and see if I can make it happen or do I have to go to the rv place not far from here and have them do it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb