How do I fit all my shoes in ONE backpack and have room for anything else?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oklahoma » Tulsa
June 18th 2007
Published: June 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0



Untitled
Christopher E. and Elizabeth F.
It is T-Minus 5 days until we leave for Florence. I am working today and tomorrow and taking the rest of the week off to pack and get ready. I am kind of sad to leave because my internship at the Federal Defender's office has been extremely rewarding and I am learning so much. I am so excited to travel through Europe again, and especially to be back in Italy. Rome is my favorite city and I always get a familiar feeling while I am there. Maybe I lived there in a past life...or maybe it's the delicious gelato. While we are in Rome, we are going to see the Vatican and have lunch with the Ambassador to the Vatican (my former neighbor). I also want to go back to the Colliseum and the Roman Forum! Florence will be great too. We have a walking tour planned as well as a chianti tour.

There is one problem though! I am only bringing ONE 70 gallon backpack. Chris and I each have one and we plan to bring only one backpack each for our entire 7 weeks abroad. As my blog title suggests, I am quite confident I could fill my entire backpack with shoes I would like to bring. Instead of figuring out what to pack in the next 4 days, I think I'm probably going to spend mroe time figuring out what NOT to pack! My mom keeps trying to get me to bring an extra bag and ship it home, but I'm going to try to fit everything into one backpack. If all else fails, it will compel me to shop while I'm in Europe (too bad)!

We haven't planned much beyond getting our plane tickets, and that worries me a little. However, I think being spontaneous will be fun. Hopefully we won't have to sleep on the street! (Just kidding!) Anyway, keep checking back and I promise to keep writing and posting pictures. Ciao!

-e

Advertisement



19th June 2007

I like the blog
E and Chris, the blog is a great idea and I know that Joy and I will look forward to keeping up with your travels. I would suggest that for advice on how to maximize shoe packing, ask Joy the expert!
19th June 2007

Shoe Situation
I know...FedEx your shoes there and then Fedex them plus all your new shoes home...Problem solved....! :)
21st June 2007

Shoes & Travelin'
I'm so excited for you guys, and this was a great idea (Elizabeth, don't let Chris take the credit) ;) I'm so glad to have a way to keep up with your travels and stay in touch. As for the shoe situation... I just don't think it's do-able. The thought of only being able to take one or two pair of shoes gives me cold chills! :)

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb