5 days remain!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Ohio
August 20th 2012
Published: August 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Welcome! I am so excited that you will be traveling alongside with me, and I only hope that my stories and photos will keep you entertained!

Today not only marks 5 days until Senegal, 10 until I'm no longer a teenager or 125.5 until I return home, but also the first day of classes back at my home institution, Miami University in Oxford, OH. While I can't complain, it has been strange laying in bed for the past two hours while all my friends are venturing off to the first day of their third year of classes. I feel as if something important is missing -- I haven't registered for classes, ordered books, or moved my life 65 miles north to the Indiana border. I haven't walked the streets of cobblestone, visited Oxford Starbucks or passed a series of brick buildings lately, and it will be January until I do so again.

<br style="color:P font-family: Arial, sans-serif; font-size: medium; line-height: normal;" />I finished my summer job last Friday as the three boys I babysit returned to school today, and without a job or something to do in general, I'm feeling even more empty! My to do list for the week is actually rather lengthy, but I will admit that I'm in denial. I still have a lot of packing (or should I say condensing) to do before Saturday afternoon, as well as several things to do before I can casually "up and leave home." While the business end of things is obviously no fun, it's inevitable, and just a painful part of growing up.

<br style="color:P font-family: Arial, sans-serif; font-size: medium; line-height: normal;" />I will be trying to update/blog/post photos as much as I can from a personal standpoint. If you can't find me on here, I will be sharing the link/information on how to access my travels in a different way -- through my internship! I have been so blessed to receive an internship with a company based out of NYC called Reach the World. I will be paired with a Title I classroom in NYC in which at least 90% of the students are considered to be low-income and at risk. While I will have a very personal connection with them (including video conferences, special requests, etc), all of my blogs, photos and personal videos that I choose to share with them will be available as a public forum. While it is a very elementary and enthusiastic style of writing, it is incredibly educational based, and might help you learn something about Senegal too!

<br style="color:P font-family: Arial, sans-serif; font-size: medium; line-height: normal;" />I am feeling incredibly healthy, blessed and grateful for this opportunity. Although my level of anxiety and fear of the unknown is somewhat overwhelming, I am prepared to challenge myself and mark a new journey.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb