Beginning


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Ohio
January 5th 2009
Published: January 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The World is a book, and those who do not travel read only a page. --St. Augustine

Welcome to my first blog entry! No one should be expecting any Shakespeare at this point; frankly I'll be happy if what I type appears on the page! But eventually I will get a hang of this and you should expect updates every so often.

As I say above, I made this blog so I can keep contact with people as I am in Europe for six months. My purpose for being in Europe? Studying political science at the Hague University (De Haagse Hogeschool in Dutch). I will be there for six months, and right now I am full of mixed emotions!

I have been dreaming about studying abroad for YEARS now. However it is one thing to dream about living in another country for an extended period of time, as opposed to actually going overseas.

My family and I have been getting ready over this winter break. We really started after Christmas, and it has been quite the process. I don't think I will actually be done getting ready until I get on the plane. Once I get to the Netherlands there is still a lot I have to do: get my residency permit, buy things for my single room, and just learn how to live completely on my own.

This is all very scary, but I think an important step. My first step, actually!! :-)


Advertisement



12th January 2009

Yay Teale! While I am definitely going to miss you this semester, I'm really glad you get to do something this awesome! Oh yeah, and bring me back a European boy. Any nationality. I'm not picky. =P

Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb