Less Than 100 Days...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Ohio
October 3rd 2007
Published: October 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Just The Start



I just found this online and figured it could be the home for all of my Mexico blogging. I still have until January 7th until my group departs for Cholula Puebla, but I figured to get it started before I got too busy and/or forgot.
Our travel itinerary was just released to us last Thursday night, starting with our initial flight to Houston, TX. I've never been to Texas before (okay, we'll only be in an airport) so for me it will be an exciting start to our trip. From TX we will fly directly to Puebla, Mexico, which is approx. 60mi south of Mexico City.
If you're wondering who the "we" is, it's my study abroad group, composed of 28 sophomores and up (we're talking 6th years... and beyond) from OU. It is primarily senior graphic designers, but has a sprinkling of junior designers (that's me!), printmakers, art historians, etc. We have two graduate students as our "adult supervision" along with our design professor.
We will reside in Cholula and travel to Mexico City for 5 days, Oaxaca for 5 days, and then take three day trips. In Mexico City we will visit three graphic design firms. In Oaxaca we will see more indiginous stuff such as old temple sites, ruins, etc. Our three day trips include a sweat shop (apparently they make Gap clothing), Mexican wrestling (when they wear the crazy masks), and a bakery.
I will be sure to take hundreds of pictures at every stop along the way. Alrighty, that should be a good enough intro for now, later!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0339s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb