One More Day and a Wake up!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Ohio » Elyria
April 28th 2013
Published: April 28th 2013
Edit Blog Post

It's Sunday and just one more day and a wake up. Gotta tell you it's kinda nerve racking but in a good way I suppose. So much to think about. I started packing last night and quickly realized that I was really over thinking what all I needed. Like last time I took way to many clothes for the month long trip. Having a washer and dryer in the condo means I can do with less. I'm not a fancy dressor so casual clothes, t-shirt/shorts and flip flops are my daily wear! But I didn't want to have to shop there for all the incidentals/toiletries etc. So I have one entire suitcase just for the daily/weekly things one uses around the house. Of course I had to bring my flavored coffee lol! Although the Dominican Republic is a third world country and very poor. If you stay anywhere near the resorts(I'm smack dab in the middle of them), everything is as expensive and in most cases more expensive than in the US. So I wanted to avoid buying the basics there. I plan on eating a lot of my meals at home. So once settled I will have Yves take me shopping. There is a grocery store just a few miles away and it is very similar to those in the US. I'm a huge milk drinker and one thing I had to get use to was that over there they don't sell milk in jugs or containers like we do. It's actually in small quart size paper containers lol! Sold right off the shelf like dry goods! It's actully quite good when served cold. Once you open it from the cupboard you need to put it in the fridge. On the subject of Yves he is my "guide, translator, taxi, travel agent, banker and overall Mr. Do It All". He is Belgian who married a Dominican(Jami) and has lived there for many years. He speaks several languages. I count on him for everything and he has become a good friend as well. My friend Stephanie Burt and Phil and Pam Baker will tell you the same. He is awesome!!! So if you ever want to come stay in the DR you must contact him to help you! Okeydokey so much more to do. I hope you will subscribe and keep in touch everyone. Have a GREAT day!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb