A visit to Athens, OH


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Ohio » Athens
June 25th 2017
Published: June 25th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Bear with me for I hope this works on the new travel site. It has been a week since communicating with everyone - a ' breather' for all of you.

In looking at my notes of places traveled and things seen in the last 7 days I can share a paragraph or two on it. My blog of the 18th was lost and it was a good one! The termination date was supposed to be the 20th but they pulled the rug early.

On Friday, the 18th was a Louisville, KY bus trip called the 'Mint Julip Bourbon Trail Tour" to Woodford Reserve, Wild Turkey, and Buffalo Trace Distilleries. All very old and historic, one dating back to the late 1700's!

Saturday was a visit to Louisville's Church Hill Downs, home of the Kentucky Derby. All very interesting, then it was on to Frankfort, KY, the State Capitol.

Sunday, a trip to Maker's Mark and Jim Beam distilleries. Maker's Mark, a white-collar brand, Jim Beam a blue-collar brand. The product tasted the same to an amateur, 'Fire Water' but the marketing approach was crafted to their respective niche markets.

Monday was a visit to the KY State Capitol building, Liberty Hall (museum), Rebecca Ruth Confectionery factory (?), noted for its bourbon-infused candies. A visit to Daniel Boone's gravesite, and the unique Vietnam Veterans' Memorial Sundial. Tuesday was a day off for laundry and housekeeping.

Wednesday I drove about 3 hours east to Charleston, WV. Their Capitol is magnificent! One of only four gold-leaf domes in the US, it stands 5' higher than the US Capitol Dome in Washington, DC. Inside, in the center of the domed rotunda hangs a 4 ton, spherical-shaped lead crystal chandelier, 8 ft in diameter. Both legislative chambers have smaller coordinating crystal fixtures. Like all capitol buildings its walls are covered with marble from near & far. The WV State Museum was extremely well done showcasing the resources of the State of West Virginia. A drive-bye and photo stop at the Governor's Mansion was made.

Thursday I left WV for Athens, OH, about 2 hours northwest of Charleston. My dear friends, John & Chris Lehman of FL have a daughter, son-in-law and 3 grandchildren there. The Browns invited me to their lovely home for dinner and conversation. It was an enjoyable time with a 'home-cooked' meal. Rare for me in my travels!

I am spending my weekend plus a day or two at the Lake Snowden RV campground, owned by Hocking College, and a beautiful park. A motor home pulled in to a site next to me yesterday. I learned that his home is 3 miles from me in FL. What a small world! Ironically, he was recently widowed (like me) and was traveling alone, also.

My space is running out so will report back tomorrow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb