Retired today from the National Guard


Advertisement
Published: May 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Bismarck to Alaska


Rob & Jolynn w/ 2005 Goldwing 1800Rob & Jolynn w/ 2005 Goldwing 1800Rob & Jolynn w/ 2005 Goldwing 1800

This picture was taken with my lovely wife and my 2005 Goldwing 1800 prior to deparitng on the Wolfs Head Run...a 1500 mile motorcycle trip around Lake Superior.
Well, it's Friday May 30 and my last day in the ND National Guard even though I don't offically retire until Aug 30, 2008. ( I have over 70 days of leave to use.) Nevertheless, it has been a "great ride" in serving my country and meeting some great people in my travels around the world. Now, I'll take some time for myself and my family which is the reason for this travel blog...to record my motorcycle Alaskan Adventure.

It's taken me this past year to plan for my Alaskan trip. The research has taken me to many websites regarding travel through Canada and Alaska. One question I've asked other bikers who have ridden to Alaska...what would you do if you had to do it all over again? And the answer I keep hearing is "I wish I would have taken more time." Taking that into consideration my trip will last about 30 days.

My plan is to ride from Bismarck, ND to Anchorage, AK via the Alaskan Highway. I plan to return home via Haines, AK to Bellingham, WA via the Alaska Martime Highway on board the Columbia ferry and then take US Highway 2 from Seattle to North Dakota.

My bike is a blue 2005 Honda GL1800 Goldwing.

CycleHutt of Mandan, ND just put the finishing touches on it...a new front tire, belly pan to protect the plastic reservoir from rock damage as well as added plexiglass protection for the headlights and fog lamps. The bike is in top running condition which is very important as I travel to areas that may not have motorcylce repair facilities.

There are lots of thoughts going through my mind comtemplating the last 32 years in the military. However, I need this mental break to clear my mind and begin the next chapter of my life at 55 years of age.

Well, that's my first entry of many more to come. June 28 will come soon and then I am off. I will add more entries on my proposed route.

Thanks for taking time to read this blog. You all have a safe day.

Rob

Advertisement



3rd June 2008

Go Dad
So proud of your service but also even more excited on your retirement. Enjoy your trip; stay safe. Can't wait to hear all the details. It'll be beautiful. your daughter, Heidi
17th June 2008

awesome
Cousin Rob, Way to go, sounds like a great time will be had, maybe you can get on that reality show where truckers drive big rigs over ice way up north there somewhere, keep an eye out for cameras, steve
17th June 2008

Go Rob Go!
Hey Rob. I'll be checking your blog all the way wishing I was there. Have a great trip and know that I will keep you in my prayers. God bless you! Bubba
20th June 2008

Counting Down
Hey Steve...thanks for the comments. I see that Dorothy Waldner signed on as well. It will be an awesome journey with lots of memories. Take Care....Rob

Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0182s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb