Super Bowl Sunday


Advertisement
Published: February 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Mo ChuisneoirMo ChuisneoirMo Chuisneoir

If you ever wanted to know how to say "my fridge" in Irish Gaelic, that's how. British fridges are more like American dorm fridges, but the one he has is tiny even by British standards.
Ah, Super Bowl Sunday. I've really done very little to know what's going on with the whole thing. I talked to my friend Allyn today and she, very helpfully, informed me as to who as actually playing in the game. She also went so far as to tell me where the teams were from as I really had no clue on the Colts (Indianapolis, Indiana). I probably could have figured out the Bears if I were to have been given a multiple choice response type question (Which major US city is home to the Bears? A) Wichita, B) Albuquerque, C) Chicago, D) Bangor. I'm pretty sure it's C.) I definitely did better with getting involved with Eurovision and the World Cup. I was in Naples, Italy when Italy won the World Cup defeating France 5-3 in a penalty shootout after extra time and the enthusiasm and pride were infectious. Last year's Eurovision winner was quite entertaining if not a little scary. 2006 Winners of Eurovision: Lordi Scroll to the bottom of the page and click on the TV icon. It takes forever to load, but is entertaining if for no other reason than to see the boots that I just must have.

I haven't even turned on my TV today to see any of the Super Bowl-related hoopla. Instead, I've had quite the Britain-related Sunday.... In fact, it even started yesterday with a routine outing to the bookshop. Now ideally, I would have had some idea what I wanted to read before setting foot in the store, but that was not to be the case. I wandered aimlessly through the Travel section and into the Fiction and Literature section where I set about the daunting task of finding a book that interested me. This should not be difficult, but it was. I went through the alphabet and finally got to the Ks where I saw some of Marian Keyes's books staring at me. Usually a good read--nothing too heavy and most often hilarious. I picked up a few books and after reading the backs of the three I had not previously read, I headed for the counter. I purchased my book and headed on my merry way knowing that when I got around to the actual reading of the book, I'd be in for a great little mental holiday to somewhere in Ireland.

I continued my shopping and then went to see "The Holiday" at the $2 cinema. Basic premise is that two girls, one in Surrey, England and one in L.A. are both trying to get over guys and they end up switching houses/cars/everything for two weeks at Christmas. All in all it was a good film, but I must say that I never once saw a little house in England like the one they used as Kate Winslet's house. If you saw the movie, did you also find it odd that the little house didn't have an electric kettle? (BTW, I soooo need one of those for my house. I got so used to having scalding/boiling hot water in a matter of moments so that I could have hot chocolate in the afternoons and boil water for spaghetti super fast that I almost don't know how to cook anymore. I think I shall add that appliance to my Christmas list.) In addition to missing the kettle, I found all sorts of things in the movie that made me a bit "homesick" for Britain. Riding on trains, small odd spaces for toilets, home-y little pubs where a great roast or curry can be had, and the stress that comes with knowing how someone feels when being made to pass a lorry on a road just barely wide enough for two motorcycles while driving on the other side of the road.

So, this morning when I awoke, I decided to pull out my newly purchased book ("The Other Side of the Story" by Marian Keyes) and begin reading. All was going well until I hit upon page six or so. Now, a bit more background: Keyes often writes her books via inset emails and letters and other various communications which makes the breaking of news a bit easier as there is some tertiary character that has just jotted off an email from Botswana that gives the main character the news. In this book, on or around page six, there was an email from the main character to one of her friends in L.A. regarding the situation at hand (I'm not sharing it with you in case you decide to read this book.). It was then I realised that I had, in fact, read the book before. Now, don't get me wrong, it's a great book, but not one that I necessarily need to read a second time so I headed out to return it to the bookstore.

This resulted in yet another half an hour or so of faffing about in Barnes and Noble looking for another book I'd like to read. I started back through the Travel section on my way to Fiction and Literature. There are other ways through the bookstore, but none that I ever take. This time though, I'd had time to ponder what I'd like to read during my drive to the shop. I really want Frances Mayes to write a third book about her time in Tuscany, but alas she has not. She did write a book about her travels throughout Europe and Asia but it's still in hardback...I'll wait for the paperback version. There is another writer called Peter Mayle who wrote sort of an equivalent book about his time in Provence and yet another writer, Stephen Clarke, who did a similar kind of book about his life in Paris. Now, while I'm sure I'd enjoy these particular books, I decided to go a different direction. Particularly in the direction of "Round Ireland with a Fridge" by Tony Hawks.

I'm going to credit my friend Ruth with getting me as intrigued with books of this nature as I am. One night, she dug through her shelves and pulled out "Are You Dave Gorman?" by Dave Gorman. I had not read this book and was delighted to have something new and different to read. It was HILARIOUS! I ended up taking it with me on an airplane on one of my adventures and the people around me were giving me looks. I was literally laughing so hard I was almost crying and kept having to put the book down so I could compose myself...but then I HAD to keep reading. In the book, Dave's friend Danny goes with him on his travels and that's what eventually got me to pick up the book "Yes Man" by Danny Wallace. He's also written another book called "Join Me" in which he accidentally starts a cult, but I haven't read that one yet. I believe that may just have to be one I get Barnes and Noble or Borders to order for me. The one common thread that these books have had, is that all of the stories are true accounts, usually of radio/TV presenters in London going out on the town, getting drunk, and agreeing to an incredibly stupid bet.

"Round Ireland with a Fridge" is no different. The front cover has the statement that started it all: "I hereby bet Tony Hawks the sum of One Hundred Pounds that he cannot hitchhike round the circumfrence of Ireland, with a fridge, within one calendar month." I'm about halfway through so far and have laughed out loud just about once a page. I've just come to what I would call a good stopping place. They're about to take the refrigerator surfing. No, really, I'm not kidding. Page 102, check it out for yourself.

Other than that, I've run a whole bunch of errands some of which were reminiscent of how I did things in London. Tesco by my flat was only open on Sunday's from 10-4 and the Tesco further down the High Street was open from 11-5 on Sunday's. This meant that if I was going to have groceries for the upcoming week, I had to be on my game and get to the store before it closed at 4. I know what you're thinking...but the other one is open until 5! Well, to get to the other one entailed at least a 20 minute bus ride on a Sunday. The Sunday bus schedule was lacking to say the least. And, when British shops say they close at a certain time, they really mean that they want you out no less than 15 minutes prior to that time so that all the business stuff can be attended to and the last employee out can lock the door at precisely the closing time. While that used to annoy and frustrate me to no end (especially when I then didn't have anything to eat for breakfast), I miss the fact that when work is over, work is over. The clinic I used to work in had that going for it as well. Every Monday through Thursday, one of the secretaries would knock on our door at 4:45 and say "5:00 tonight, ladies." On Friday's they came by at 4:30. It never failed that the SLTs were the last group to leave and we were always cutting it close to 5 (or 4:45) and as everyone knows, you never want the secretaries to be cross with you.

There are lots of other thing I miss about the UK including, but not limited to: Dove's organic wholemeal biscuits, the freetime I seemed to have to read or listen to my MP3 player while waiting on/riding the bus/train, knowing how to operate escalators (I continually try to get on the wrong one here and I always seem to be the only person actually walking on them), being active without having to plan it into my day, Bank Holidays, the proximity to Europe and all things wonderful contained therein, and Branston Pickle. If I take one of my close friend's very honest suggestions, maybe I'll move back and live happily ever after...but then I'll miss all the great things here--like helpful customer service individuals and the ability to buy paint, shampoo, and bacon all from the same store at 3:30am--including my wonderful, caring friend.

P.S. If you know of any other books that seem like they'd fit my "genre", I'd love to know the titles!

P.P.S. I just Googled the Super Bowl and, for those of you who also didn't watch I'll fill you in, it seems that the Colts have won 29-17 over the Bears. :-)

Advertisement



5th February 2007

ditto
I too did not watch the game. Never even had it on that channel. Had the Monk shows on all evening although putting a newsletter together occupied in a side room. How about passing on the one about the fridge to me sometime? Love ya, Mom
6th February 2007

other reading suggestions
hi Mary, i have read tony hawks round ireland with a fridge. he also wrote one hit wonderland which andy recommends but i have not read it. I would recommend Mark Twain's a tramp abroad, very funny even if it was written a long time ago. I also liked elizabeth von arnim's enchanted april. british women renting a house in italy for a month. i enjoyed it. I still enjoy reading about your adventures.

Tot: 0.455s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0764s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb