Getting Ready


Advertisement
Published: June 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We are getting ready for our adventure to Italy, France, Austria, Switzerland, and Germany. Our schedule will include visiting the Roman Coliseum and Catacombs of San Callisto, the Sistine Chapel , meeting a nun, clean up a park near the Pisa, ride in a gondola in Venice, visit the Mauthusen Concentration Camp , speak with a survivor of a concentration camp, enjoy the Prater Amusement park where the second largest ferris wheel in the world is, stay a couple of days with a family in Germany, visit the Chateau de Versailles , and of course climb the Eiffel Tower. How exciting the prospect is of everything awaiting us and that is not everything in store for our group.

We have had three orientation meetings so far and have one more to go. People to People is very thorough. Details are coming together. The shirts are in, flights have been booked. I will have a cell phone dedicated to contacting headquarters for any reason. MANY pamphlets have been read, tests have been taken, including all leaders having to be certified in CPR.

The students have travel journals to keep a record of their adventure. We are counting down.

I hope to keep this blog updated for parents, friends, armchair adventurers and for contemplation when it is all over. I am sure at the end it will seem as if it has flown.

Come with us, even if it is virtual, on our adventure!

Bambi, Roselyn, Joni, and Bruce


Advertisement



6th June 2008

GOING AGAIN?????
P2P (YOU'LL HAVE TO EXPLAIN THAT ONE TO ME), WHAT A LUCKY WOMAN YOU ARE!!! I AM SURE IT WILL BE A BLAST, CAN I COME ALONG, TOO??? HAVE A GREAT TRIP AND I'LL LOOK FORWARD, EAGERLY, TO YOUR POSTINGS AND NEWS. DON AND CAROL HARDISON
7th June 2008

On the road again...
It doesn't seem like its been a full year since the last P2P trip, but I'm ready to hear and see all about your adventures by email, blog, and Skype. Allen
9th June 2008

How exciting and thank you!
Bambi, Thank you for taking the time in making this blog and keeping it updated. I know it is a lot of extra work, but know that we parents are very appreciative! It will be a wonderful way for us to share in the expericence with our child on this exciting trip. Thanks again, The Price's
9th June 2008

Counting down the days...
Hey Bambi, Just wanted to let you know what a great job you're doing keeping us all informed here. I'll be a nervous wreck while Destiny is gone and am so grateful for this blog and to be able to see and talk to Destiny with Skype. Thanks for everything and I'm very much looking forward to your postings. Enjoy!!! Kristy
9th June 2008

The travelBlog is great. It helped me so so much last year knowing that I was going to hear from you and possibly see picutures. This helps the parents alot.
21st June 2008

Great site
Bambi this is great! All of the links you gave are so exciting to look at. I wish I was going! How do you become a delagate leader anyway??! I cant wait for Zack to experience this!
10th July 2008

Nervous!!
Ok, my last entry said I was excited...now I'm so nervous that I'm sick to my stomach!! Am I the only first timer here? I can't believe my child is leaving the country!! If anyone has any advice for dealing with this anxiety, please tell me now...LOL. Seriously though, I'm so glad Destiny has this opportunity with such a great group of people. It's an awesome opportunity for her and all the students. But that does not minimize my anxiety and nervousness :-)
16th July 2008

Delta Flight Tracking
Mandy, Phil and I have been tracking your flight from Delta’s web site. It looks like you are almost to Newfoundland, but still have 5 hours and 45 minutes to go before landing in Rome. I can’t wait to see information and pictures posted on the blog. Hope you get some sleep on the plane. LU, Allen
16th July 2008

My Little Sis
Bambi, Just wanted to let you know that your watching my lil sis angela and please make sure she is ok and let her know that I love and miss her ALOT. So does Rocky. Have lots of fun!! - jessica p.s. I love your name Bambi
17th July 2008

Have a safe and great trip.
Bambi and Cassey, Sorry that i did not get to tell you sooner... I will stay in contact with you through your blog. Love you... Virginia
23rd July 2008

JOHN ALEX GRADY
I wanted to say that the pictures looks awesome and I know you are having lots of fun! I am so happy you are experiencing this and can't wait to see you! ILU!!! Bring me back some fun jewelry!
5th June 2010

Sounds like your adventure is going to be excited and fun. So I hope my niece Raven Brooks and the rest of the group have a lots of fun and be safe.

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0259s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb