A New Life Adventure


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » North Carolina » Asheville
November 28th 2015
Published: November 28th 2015
Edit Blog Post

image.image.image.

Taffy is very excited to get on the road.
It has been awhile since my first post because my focus has been on my recent move from Wisconsin to North Carolina. The official move was about a month ago yet seems like it was more like several months ago. It is interesting how the concept of time can be somewhat distorted by our perception. I have been here alone the majority of the time with exception of my constant companion, Taffy, my 8 year old miniature Dachshund. Currently, I am sitting in the back yard of the home we chose to settle in for the next year or so, throwing Taffy's beloved ball. In between throws, she spends 10 minutes or so sniffing the ground in a rather focused, intense way that can only mean there are some other very interesting creatures sharing this space with her when we are elsewhere. I would love to know what it is she is smelling since her tail never stops wagging furiously as she moves effortlessly to and fro through the grass. Someone unsuspecting looking on would assume she is unsuccessfully trying to locate the ball but I know better. I see her pass by the ball over and over, even touching it
image.image.image.

Long trip from WI to NC but Taffy made herself very comfortable.
with her nose from time to time so I know she knows where it is. She simply has found something that has caught her attention in a stronger way. It's fine since it gives me a break from the repetitive task of throwing her ball.

It has been a lovely day here in the Swannanoa Valley of North Carolina. Temperatures were in the mid-60's for most of the day. I will take that over the mid-30's experienced in Wisconsin today. It is a good life here for many reasons and I look forward to experiencing all that western North Carolina has to offer to this Yankee! My goal is to write about the big and the small adventures here in the mountains so that I can become familiar with all there is to enjoy and to share it through this forum.

This gypsy soul is signing off for now....


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

image.image.
image.

Best sunning spot in the new house.


Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0616s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb