Where would you like to go to this year?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » North Carolina » Asheville
January 11th 2011
Published: January 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

For the better part of the past five years, I've been traveling. Mainly around the country: shooting people, places and things. This year I don't have any destinations lined up, but I've got the itch to travel...again.

One of the local newspapers is holding a sort of contest this next three months for their readers. The paper is asking readers: "Where in the 48 states would you like to go to that you've never been, and why".

The winner will be the person with the most unique destination in mind and the most creative reason for visiting it. They, (the winner) will have a 'date' with me and then I'm setting out on a trip to their destination of choice. The newspaper will be running weekly updates on my trip as well as posting the blog entries and photos from the journey.

I thought it would be kind of neat to do the same thing for the class of '74.

I've been fortunuate since we graduated. Been able to see and do alot of neat things. It's been over the past several weeks that I've come to realize that my life has kind of been unique and not everyone that I went to BCHS with has been able to travel as freely.

So here's my plan.

Pick a destination using the same criteria as the paper. It must be a place in the 48 lower states and be a place that you've never been to before.

Post your response and reason on the BCHS FB page (click here) or email me at jandrewnelson@yahoo.com.

Now what do YOU have to do...simiple, only two things.

#1 Identify a non-profit group that you would like to use this project as a fundraiser for (if you'd like to split that with MY favorite group, AHN, feel free to do so).

#2 Be willing to help spread the word "far-and-wide" about the trip and it's purpose. I could use the publicity and the non-profit you choose would benefit more.

#3 No, I guess that's about it...just two things for you to do.

So put the Travel Channel on your TV and let's pick a destination!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb