Who is Who?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » North Carolina » Apex
August 12th 2008
Published: August 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So, most of you probably don’t know, but I’m in North Carolina again! What? You ask. Already? Don’t worry, I’m not on tour yet. BUT, I did fly across the country to visit my dear friend Auntie Sarah!

I flew in yesterday, on 3 flights- one to Oakland, one to Nashville, and one to Raleigh/Durham. The first flight, I sat next to an Air Force Pilot, and we had a nice little 2-hour chat. On the second, I sat between a mother and her college-aged son, and we all slept. Then I started reading, and read almost an entire book! The woman and I talked about the last 10 minutes or so of the flight, then we all changed seats even though we were staying on the same plane. I was all-too-eager to be done flying by the third flight, so I continued to read (almost done) when I got one of those God-promptings to do something weird. You know- you think it’s Him but hope it’s yesterday’s pizza? Well, I followed the pizza and ended up in a great conversation with the 80-year-old man sitting next to me. Ah, clearly from God. I wasn’t even bummed about not finishing my book!

It’s always fun to, after a full day of traveling, run to someone to give them a hug as they run to you too. This was the scene you would have seen played out last night at RDU, had you been there. She was wearing her orange trousers and ACC travel shirt- the same shirt I happened to have on (really only because I always make fun of Sarah and Kyle for wearing them so often.) As we jumped up and down, we headed for the Red Pepper (big 15-passenger van) where I got to meet Liz.

Let me rewind a moment. Sarah is currently on tour with Choir 31, which is the Choir I will be with when I go back on the road in October. All of the people I’m introducing will be with me then, so pay attention! It is a new group of chaperones (although I’ve already met a few) plus a whole new group of 26 children. Kyle, along with a few others, will be joining us later as well.

Back to now. We also were at the airport to pick up Angela, who will be the teacher for the next Choir and is heading to Uganda a few weeks. We had to drive around several times and play a great game of Musical Terminals, but eventually there was success. By the way, I met at least a dozen people in the terminal who are NOT named Angela. As we were driving, Sarah and I were in the front catching up (which is a funny term because we’re already “up” since we talk every day) and Liz and Angela were in the back. All of the sudden, Liz blurts out “I can’t even tell who is who! I only know because I know Sarah is driving!” She continued to point out what characteristics and phrases we both do and use (most of which we picked up from each other.) Very funny. Sarah and I would like to, one time, wear the same thing and never be in the same room, just to mess with the kids.

It was a very fun night- meeting new people (Liz, Angela, Christine, Victor, Alice), seeing old people (Cowboy and Jordan), the works. Sarah and I stayed up way too late chatting. Why? Because we could! Without the help of technology. It’s also very nice to have someone you’re so looking forward to seeing to also be looking forward to seeing you. (Is that even a sentence? I hope you get the point.) Sarah arrived at the airport with a Sprite, bottle of water, bag of M&Ms, and a small tube of toothpaste, my favorite kind, to replace the one that got taken out of my carryon. When we got to the house, my bed was made to my likings- all of this without even asking! What a welcome! I made her chocolate chip cookies before I flew out and picked some peaches to take. I guess that’s what best friends are for, and I love it!

This morning, the deal was that I got to sleep in until forever and Sarah was going to teach, then at lunch time we had errands to run and things. I slept a full 9 hours! Don’t remember the last time that happened. Well, apparently I woke up with the first bell and looked around, but Sarah told me to go back to sleep. When I woke up around 10, I could hear kids. “Why do I hear kids? It sounds like they’re jumping off the walls. What’s going on? Oh wait, THEY ARE!” I forgot where I was for a bit. While I was asleep, Sarah came in several times, hoping for be to be awake so we could play.

Finished the book this morning, quiet time, shower, the usual. Helped Victor, the African Uncle, make lunch and chatted with Uncle Jordan, who was teaching science. Sarah took me over to meet Ray, the president and founder, and then we took Elsa to the airport. It was good to see her again. I also got introduced to the kids during all of this.

Dropped Elsa at the airport, went to find the arboretum, which is actually just building named that, and finally made it to Sam’s Club for groceries. An hour and a half and several hundred dollars later, we were ready to go. We got back just in time to make dinner- hamburgers, company potatoes, and peas. What more could anyone ask for? We had to alter the potatoes a bit, as Sam’s doesn’t have all of the ingredients, but they were fine. Joshua B, one of the smallest kids and one I iChatted with on Saturday, told me, “thank you for coming, Auntie Jami. Because we are having hamburgers for dinner and that’s my favorite, and we had pizza buns for lunch, and that’s my favorite, and we even had my favorite cereal for breakfast!”

Elsa had a fun comment this morning on the drive. (In case you can’t remember, Elsa is one of the African Aunties and basically is in charge of the house and the choir staying there. She had to go home to Uganda today for about 4 weeks.) “So, you two were up late talking? I don’t understand that. How could you possibly have more to talk about. Jami, Sarah is talking to you every minute! I can’t believe it!”

These kids are a bit younger than the others, but much smaller. Some are smaller than my brother. I didn’t realize until Saturday how much I miss seeing them everyday and getting 26 hugs every morning. It’s also interesting to see how different the culture is from one choir to the next. They’re very fun, and I can’t wait to get to know them better. They’re all also pretty convinced that Sarah and I are sisters- I guess we look as much alike to them as they do to us at first!

All in all, it was a great day. Vacation is nice, especially when it’s with someone you truly enjoy. Tomorrow we have a day off and lots planned! I’ll keep you posted! Oh, quick note, this means I’m in EASTERN time, 3 hours later than at home (Dale!)

The Sarah quote from today (because I know you missed it!) “How far is your front from you back?”

Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb