New York - 14 years later


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » Yonkers
June 14th 2014
Published: August 11th 2016
Edit Blog Post

My first to New York was in February 2010 for the Westminster Dog Show. Fast-forward fourteen years later, I was headed back for a much more serious event: meeting my boyfriend's family. Mark's youngest sister was graduating high school, prompting a gathering of 100 people at his father's house. Surprisingly, there was a little bit of culture shock for me. Sure, my people are loud and obnoxious, but we're a far cry from the New York Italian family. There is such a difference between east and west coast mannerisms, but it was fun to experience all of it. Following the graduation gathering, we visited with Mark's mother and cousins in the city (meaning Manhattan). We had a great dinner and strolled along the waterfront. We stayed overnight in a nice hotel across from Grand Central Station. The following day we bopped around Central Park, the Met, and Mark treated me to a surprise lunch at Tavern on the Green! It was a short and fast-paced weekend, but I am encouraged to come back.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb