One more before we start...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » Watertown
March 30th 2007
Published: March 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

OD

Well here it is two days before departure. We took all of our resupply boxes to be mailed out to Rochester and dropped them off at our daughters place. She will be responsible for getting them out to us on time. There was a total of 14 boxes. This has probably been one of the hardest logistical problems I have ever worked on. There are so many variables that we don't know I believe what I have done is just a real good guess. Loading it into the SUV I had to fold down one of the seats just to get it all in. Once down in Rochester everything was gone over, rechecked and packed away into the proper box. We left all the boxes open so they could be modified and adjusted according to our wants, needs and changes in taste. I am looking forward to only having to think about what the weather will be like in the morning and how far we will walk today. Life with a rucksack on your back is so much more simple. The extended weather forecast for the first few days of our hike look good with only a 30% chance of rain on Monday. I hope we both stay healthy enough to complete the hike and can actually use all the things we have put up. We checked our packs the other day and they both came in well below what I thought they might. CC's came in at 30 lbs and mine came in at 40 lbs, not bad for still having some warmer winter clothing packed in there. Once there is not much chance of cold (below 35 degrees) and we can ship those extra cloths home our packs will be even more manageable. I would also like to thank everyone who has encouraged or helped us along our preparations. I also hope you all enjoy our trip as much as we will.



CC

I'm really excited that the start is near. The trip down to Rochester was bitter sweet. It was real nice to get those food boxes all done, trying to get a good selection in every box without any repeat meals was hard. At the end I was not sure what was where, but I'm sure we will survive regardless. It was real hard to leave my wee dog. I could tell she knew something was up and when we walked out the door. She gave me a sad look as if to say "Mom I know you will be back in an hour or so, I think." I will miss her and wish I had room to take her with us. When we checked our pack weights it was a nice surprise to see mine was just 30 lbs. For the next few days I can do some relaxing and do the final touches on the house getting it ready for our house sitter. I hope my knees last and I would like to thank everyone who has said words of encouragement and has us on their prayer list. The only thing left to do is start walking South.




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



30th March 2007

1st food box
Hey, I just wanted to let everyone know that today 3/28/07, I mailed out my parents first food box to Linden, Va. The weight was 11 lb 7.6 oz. It will feed them for 6 days. I hope you enjoy all of that dehydrated food. It was pretty cool to see how to pack it and also vacuum pack it all. Yes, they were right, there was stuff everywhere and looked like a mess but when it all came together in all of the boxes it made since. Well, we will be praying for you and hope you both enjoy!! Love, Micki PS... Ginger can walk on her two back legs for a few steps and go right into three full spins right in a row. :)
1st April 2007

Fare thee well
Thinking of you, impressed, and proud of you both. Debbie your knees are being prayed for. Pat, your mind can rest a little now... :)

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0297s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb