No more job + one way ticket to Fiji = Life is good


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » Rockland
November 29th 2005
Published: November 30th 2005
Edit Blog Post

So I’m pretty excited right now. Only 2 more days until I leave for Fiji on Dec 1 with 2 of my best friends. I’ve been voluntarily unemployed since Nov 1 and I highly recommend it. Sleep rules. I walk around with a permanent smile and I haven’t even left yet. That’s not to say I’m not nervous at all, but I decided that there’s something to be said about scaring the shit out of yourself. Everyone should try it at least once in their lives. It’s fun.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Here's to FijiHere's to Fiji
Here's to Fiji

This was during my surprise going away party - it's a shot of an Israeli liquor called Arack. I dunno if any of you have tried it, but the funnier picture would have been of my face after downing it. Thanks to Blaise and Shawn for organizing the party.
Me and AlanMe and Alan
Me and Alan

This is me and Alan, one of my travel mates. It was taken in Rocky Mountain National Park, Colorado during a break on our 6 mile uphill hike.
Me and BryanMe and Bryan
Me and Bryan

Here's a picture of me and Bryan, my other travel mate. It was taken during our camping trip in the Adirondacks in upstate New York this summer. I don't care what anyone says, headlamps are cool.
Gooning it up on the golf courseGooning it up on the golf course
Gooning it up on the golf course

This is me and Josh, my roommate for the first 2 years of living in Manhattan. We're not very good golfers. We actually tied that day. We both shot a 61 on the front nine. Then we ran out of beer.
Halloween Party 2005Halloween Party 2005
Halloween Party 2005

Here is me, Adin, and Alan in our Halloween costumes. We dressed up as the Beastie Boys in the Sabotage video. This was our last night in the apartment and the party was insane.
No more barbecueNo more barbecue
No more barbecue

This picture was taken of 1st Avenue in Manhattan after several fire trucks were sent to our apartment. We were barbecuing on our patio and the smell was bothering our lunatic neighbor. She told us that we were white trash and we told her to shut up and stop whining. So she called in a fire. Bottom line, we couldn't barbecue anymore after that.
More fire trucksMore fire trucks
More fire trucks

This was pandemonium. A few months ago, the outer wall of the building adjacent to ours was at risk of collapsing. The firemen gave us 15 seconds to grab what we could from our apartment and then we were all evacuated. Fortunately, it didn't collapse and we were let back in later that night. But not the other building. It has been condemned and now it's full of crackhead squatters. Gotta love the East Village.
ATVs on the sand dunesATVs on the sand dunes
ATVs on the sand dunes

Yeah this was somewhere in Oregon. It was fun until I flipped my ATV and broke my right collarbone in 2 places. There was still a week of our trip left so we continued on our way, after a brief pit stop at the pharmacy to pick up 36 pills of Vicodin which lasted me a whole 6 days. Good stuff.
Bouncing SoulsBouncing Souls
Bouncing Souls

This was taken during a Bouncing Souls show that was on a 3 hour boat cruise around Manhattan. Maybe 200 people total. One of the best shows ever.
Hanggliding in SwitzerlandHanggliding in Switzerland
Hanggliding in Switzerland

Back in 2003 I went hanggliding in Interlaken. It was much scarier than I thought it would be. Especially when he started doing loops and dives.
More extreme sportsMore extreme sports
More extreme sports

Here's me, Lenny, and Volini right before we jumped out of an airplane last summer in British Columbia. It was like, cool and stuff.
Snowboarding in BreckenridgeSnowboarding in Breckenridge
Snowboarding in Breckenridge

Me and Josh at the top of Breckenridge, Colorado.


30th November 2005

Word up
And so it begins my friends, a journey that has the possibility of never ending...i hope you all shit in your pants...see you in myanmar
1st December 2005

rock on
may your sleeping rocks be soft, your strange foreign women supple, your beers/lagers/ales/pilsners/stouts/porters plentiful, your occassional foreign diseases infrequent, and your adventures fulfilling. i would say 'see you on the flip side', but there is no beginning or end. so see you when i see you. rock on.
1st December 2005

What's up.
What's up guys. I am sitting behind my desk right now actually contemplating suicide. I hate both of you. I can't wait until you and Al send everyone pictures of you guys having gay sex on the beaches of Fiji.
1st December 2005

World Tour 2006
Enjoy the fullest your little jaunt around the globe. The last I heard, its about 25k miles around so try to not to take the Forrest Gump approach by walking everywhere - planes, trains and automobiles are good methods of transport as well. As you start your travels, here is some simple advice: "A good traveler has no fixed plans, and is not intent on arriving." ~Lao Tzu
1st December 2005

holy shit
You guys really left today? All along I thought that you were joking about this crazy trip. I'm gonna miss you guys like hell, and Im not sure that ill ever have another living situation as insane as the past 2 years. But I will try for moskowitz's sake. Live it up, do lots of crazy shit. I'll see you in Europe in August after the cannonball. live every day like it's your last... peace out brothers.
2nd December 2005

"Scotty Doesn't Know"
Go balls out. Make us proud.
2nd December 2005

i am wondering why you went to the international terminal before you met nina???
i was really hoping to say one last farewell........when you were with nina....so....farewell....have an awesome time and i look forward to reading all about your adventures....don't forget, it is never too early to come home, love, aunt debbie
2nd December 2005

The world is yours!!!
Holy frikkin shmoly!!! you guys are probably laying on a beach somewhere right now, in paradise. kick back, relax, go crazy, etc - basically live according to the moment and have fun. Here's to seeing you guys in Europe whenever you get there!!!
2nd December 2005

damn you!
how could you leave me and destroy my social life? i hope you guys come back with some african swollen dick disease
4th December 2005

I can't even imagine what you guys are doing now. It is about to snow over here but I am sure the weather is amazing on the other side of the world. I hope you are having fun......
5th December 2005

Adios
Goodluck cuz - we'll be missing you around but know that you're bound for a great adventure. Take care and have a blast!
9th December 2005

Gone already?!
Safe travels, cuz! You're reminding me of when we met up in Barcelona, seems so long ago. You may give me a good excuse to travel somewhere exotic - keep us updated with your travels! and stay crazy...
20th December 2005

Crazy
That shit is bannanas
2nd January 2006

What am I doing wrong??
Obviously, I don't know you, but I am amazed. How do you have the cash for all these world travels? I am a college grad with a good paying job, yet I am not financially free to do all those amazing things. Is there a method to the madness??
8th February 2006

Hey I don't know you either!
Wee! I'm quitting my job to travel too!

Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 17; qc: 86; dbt: 0.1001s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb