3 weeks


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York
April 30th 2015
Published: April 30th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday was the three week mark since I left Texas and tomorrow will be three weeks since I set foot in New York for the very first time in my life. Exactly three weeks ago I was trying not to panic while traveling on the grey hound buses- three weeks ago I had no clue what was going to happen when I got to New York. All I knew was that to Texas I was not returning any time soon. I find myself three weeks later on a comfortable bed inside a nice, clean hotel room with a roommate that dosent say much. I wake up in the mornings and go join the other homeless men for breakfast. After that, I board a city bus and a train for Manhattan, taking around an hour to get near work. I don't start until 12pm, so I linger around mid-town for a while. Only things I've got to worry about now a days are coming up with ways I could earn extra cash, saving money, and if I should listen to spanish pop rock, mexican regional, rap or jazz on the subway rides. Also I'm not using my bike anymore and I'm not walking as much either, thus finding a belly where I didn't have one.

At work I've met some pretty cool guys that i can express my true self with for the first time since I got to the city. For the first time is not all bible talk- the girls passing by and nonsense about what we would do to them are often the themes floating around our small waffle trailer/booth. I will admit though, I'm getting quite lonely up here. New York, i feel, is a place to enjoy with equal minded friends or a girl. I try to keep myself concentrated- - only a couple of months here, learn, live the city life, unwind my music talent some and try not falling for any girl. If the later happens, I fear New York will be harder to move on from, physically and mentally. Sometimes I look at the city skyline and reflect upon it, not thinking much of it. It's a huge city, but that's it. Life and everything here is so expensive, people are cold for the most part and everyone lives their own life-- oblivious to the space; the world we all share in this beautiful orchestration of life we all dance together to. I wonder if in time this city will grow on me, and if another person will be part of that grow.

Yesterday in the evening while I waited for the train to take me back to queens, I was listening to an r&b band composed of four old black guys, a basist, a drumer, a guitarist and their singer. They were old and didn't look like nothing special, but the singer's voice, and the bands delivery. .. I ended up donating a dollar along with many others. That singer had such a powerful voice and while he was singing out that huge soul of his out, a smile drew across my face and the hair on my skin rose. There and then I knew I had to warm my voice up again. I haven't singed since I left texas but I have got to start again. The feelings I felt that evening at the sub station are the same type of feelings I want to cause in other people with my own voice. I think I've reached enough peace of mind to heed my artistic needs, and I believe New York is the correct city to initiate just that.

Next blog entry will have pictures, for sure.







Advertisement



Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0621s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb