Auntie Andrea's Big Holiday


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York
January 8th 2009
Published: January 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

CharlieCharlieCharlie

My carefully selected travel companion for the coming year and am sure he will feature in a few more pics here and there
Well my trip hasn't started off as planned.

After the New Year I found that my left knee was twinging with pain and whilst I knew it was nothing serious I had to get it checked out - 10 weeks skiing planned and all that. A planned check up at the dentist and a stop at the walk-in centre had me an all clear on both accounts subject to dosing myself up on anti-inflammatory for the knee. Lunch was courtesy of H and Jessica was very concerned that my knee was ok and would get better. I also got told I was going on a big holiday! The final goodbyes were said with a non-plussed kiss from 3 month old Jacob and a big squeeze and sloppy kiss from Jessica.

On Tuesday morning I woke up and my stomach was feeling decidedly dodgy but I put it down to nerves and excitement till I got out of the shower and nearly fainted. Anyway without going into details I came down with a pretty nasty 24 hour stomach bug. Whilst I was determined all day that I was still going to make the 9am flight to New York the next
The great sights of ManchesterThe great sights of ManchesterThe great sights of Manchester

Manchester decided to live up to its hype for the day and I left in fog.....
day it was not meant to be. At 8.30pm after another trip to the bathroom and not feeling any better I reluctantly made the decision that I would have to stay behind a day. The appropriate telephone calls were made to Canada and flights changed - the only silver lining to it all was that I actually got a £175 refund as the amended flight was cheaper!!

Anyway Mum, Dad and I left home this morning at 7am and got to the airport with plenty of time to spare. My bags were all checked in (just within the weight limit...!) and I said my final and tearful goodbyes. The flight was 15 minutes delayed but hey what was 15 minutes longer in Manchester airport when I have a 7 hour layover in Newark! I arrived in Newark 30 minutes earlier than scheduled - RESULT!! - to find that my flight to Quebec had been canceled as had the other flight and I could not be put on any connecting flights.

So I am now sat in the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Newark courtesy of Continental Airlines. I have $28 worth of food vouchers, a swimming pool, gym, bar and
Crowne Plaza, NewarkCrowne Plaza, NewarkCrowne Plaza, Newark

My HUGE bed!!!!
restaurant all at my disposal till my flight out of here at 11.25am.

I'm gutted not to be in Quebec with all the other trainees but I can think of worse places to be in.

Is this all real to me now....??? Not really as I just spent the past hour on Skype to Mum and Dad letting them know where I'm at and I have also spoken to Rachel since she was at home and online at the same time. These phone calls to all for the grand charge of £0.33 and it felt like they were all only just down the road as normal....

Hopefully the next update will come from Quebec with a few photos of some of that white stuff I have come in search for!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Crowne Plaza, NewarkCrowne Plaza, Newark
Crowne Plaza, Newark

The tv is nearly as wide as the bed. Wonder if this sort of treatments awaits in Quebec!?
Crowne Plaza, NewarkCrowne Plaza, Newark
Crowne Plaza, Newark

Hmmm the sights of Newark are nearly as delightful as Manchester!


9th January 2009

hard life
Hey ho hard life for some slumming it in posh hotels and executive lounges. Looking forward to seeing pics of Charlie on the slopes and around the world. Skype you soon Big Bro
9th January 2009

Auntie Andrea's big holiday!!!
Jessica still has concerens over you knee it has been mentioned daily! Had a good chat with you mum this afternoon re your gate by the way, I always told you my professional services would come in handy one day! Enjoy the posh hotel before you have to start really slumming it in May X
10th January 2009

Great but. . .
Hi glad you safe across the atlantic but where are you now??? :) Hope to see some more pictures soon. Have left you a mess on Skype as the picture emotions are more fun:) Hope you are having fun and your knee is OK and you ve whizzed down at least one slope. Speak soon Rxx
10th January 2009

Big Brother
PS Its just like Big Brother waiting for pictures of the house and housemates to appear. . . .
10th January 2009

Are we nearly there yet?
Yes, the age old backseat mantra of children everywhere, Eric and Jenny have been asking if you had arrived as we were having a go at the Ski Slalom on the Wii today. Glad to hear you're safe and almost well! I'll tell them that Auntie Andrea has taken Charlie on her adventure and maybe Roary and Luciana (Eric and Jenny's Build a Bears) can send him messages and pictures so he doesn't miss home too much too! Hope you are able to get stuck into your training soon. Lots of love Chris and Caroline

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 35; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb