Queen of Queens


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York
August 31st 2005
Published: February 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

That's me!That's me!That's me!

This is the backside of Maria and Eric's new house.
Hot and sticky day.
I hate the humidity.
But I love air-con!

Okay, so I'm not really the Queen of Queens...just didn't know what to add for a title. lol I can’t believe that it is my last day here in NYC! It's been really nice seeing Maria and her parents and uncle after 15 years! It was also nice to finally meet Maria's husband Eric. They'll be celebrating 10 years of marriage this coming November. Man just another example of how time flies.

This'll be a short one. Just thought I'd write a short entry detailing some of the highlights of my last six days here in New York. I love this place. Mind you I've never been here for the long term so that might be a little different. lol Here are some of the highlights off the top of my head:

* The food! From dim sum to Penang curry to eggs benedict with Salmon to Chinese feast to seafood to the peaches. It's all been good. I'm surprised that I haven't had to go out and buy new pants. haha
* Seeing Maria and her family after such a long time. It’s always nice
That's Maria!That's Maria!That's Maria!

This is Maria in front of her Gingerbread house. :)
to catch up after only being in contact sporadically over the years. It is interesting how some things don't change after 15 years...
* Meeting up with Tony for dinner. He's been living here in NYC about 18 months and loves it even though he is working long hours. It wasn't only nice to see Tony again but the food we had at Markt was AWESOME! I still can't believe how much I ate...well, maybe I can. haha
* Visiting the American Museum of Natural History. Taxidermy at it's finest. But seriously there were lots of other interesting displays there. Plus the Earth & Space Centre was open this time round unlike back in 1999.
* Seeing Rent on Broadway. Perfect since I've been listening to the soundtrack lots lately on my mp3 player.
* Window shopping. It is amazing how many upscale shops and boutiques there are here in NYC. I did manage to pick up a few things at stores more in my price range...Old Navy and H&M. I think that I'm addicted to H&M!
* Did I mention the food? lol

So in a nutshell it has been a good week here in New York even with the incredibly high humidity (but that is okay since my room has its own air con unit!)

Hope all is well wherever you are. I likely will not touch base until after I've done a little cruising on the Caribbean. 😊
Hugs and stuff,
Bonz xoxo

I took it pretty easy today. Maria and I went for Dim Sum in Chinatown in Flushing, Queens. Then I worked on burning some photos to CD and sent out a few emails. Did my final packing in anticipation of flying off to Atlanta and Maria and I went out for dinner. We were originally going to try out the new Korean restaurant in the neighbourhood but they didn't have any chicken dishes and Maria doesn't eat beef or pork and is allergic to seafood. So it was a bit embarrassing but we had to get up and leave! So we went for Greek instead. Now that was a bit of a grease feast but oh so yummy!!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.242s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1211s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb