The big apple


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York
July 11th 2007
Published: July 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Four days in the heat and excitement of New York left me exhausted but happy. After Kysa's wedding shower, we went into the city and Jane, Dwyer, Brad & I had a great Italian meal in the upper east side (Uva's, on 2nd and & 84th street, they had a lovely garden in the back for some al fresco dining, I totally recommend it). Jane & Dwyer & I spent most of Sunday relaxing at Jane's place & then we went for a little pampering before I headed off to meet Ann for drinks & dinner downtown. The lower east side where she lives is great, really cute shops and little restaurants everywhere. Still so hot though!

Monday was a bit of shopping, and then I went to the Museum of Modern Art for the Richard Serra exhibit. As I was lost in thought gazing up at them very large outdoor sculptures, wondering if I could get a good picture, I hear an "EE?" from behind me- and Brad is standing there! It was very strange, but great luck, because we continued to see the rest of the exhibit together, which was great. The pieces are huge, and the shapes quite beautiful. My sister Madeline told me that when they were redoing the MoMA, they built the floors extra strong with reinforcements to hold the future Serra exhibit! That night, Ann, Jane, KP & Bob and I went out to dinner by Jane's place on the upper east side.

The next day, after a late start sorting out this blog & being a total sloth in the air conditioned apartment, I decided to grab a NY slice of pizza slathered with crushed chilis, garlic powder, oregano & parmesan (one of my favourites, I got it from La Familia on 8th St & Broadway). After that, although it was really hot, I took the subway to Brooklyn, and then walked around Brooklyn Heights and down to the water, heading to the Brooklyn Bridge. I've never been to Brooklyn before, which is strange since I've been to Manhattan so many times. It was really cool, I could see myself living there by the water. It was much less hectic than Manhattan, and the views by the river are fabulous. Next time I am in NY I will definitely head back there to explore more, especially to see the Brooklyn Museum of Art which I didn't have time for this trip. When I hit the bridge, I didn't realise how looooooong it was going to be! There were loads of people walking & cycling across it, and although it was hot & hazy out, the views were pretty cool. After the bridge, it was a very fast walk up through Chinatown & Little Italy to get back to the East Village for a great French dinner at Balthazar with Ann & Greg.

On Wednesday, I made my way to the Chinatown bus, where I was amazed to pay $10 to get from NY to Philadelphia. It's fast- 2 hours- and cheap, totally better value for money than taking the train.

As always, NY did not disappoint, and it was fab to spend time with so many friends!


Additional photos below
Photos: 47, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb