Zero visibility


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York
February 2nd 2007
Published: February 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Times Square SubwayTimes Square SubwayTimes Square Subway

Be shown where to go in style
Short one tonight - I'm just about to go out and celebrate in Brooklyn with Diana and John - having curry, a fine British tradition! It's been a slightly emotional day - been edging towards homesickness, even though I got to speak to a few people (they charge for taking calls here!!!Swizz!). I've been thinking about Gran too - miss her ringing me, sending a card with crooked handwriting and a Joycean stream of consciousness... have a happy brithday best wishes all the best ... aah. Still, I've moved forward from last year - in so many ways.


MOMA was terrific - really. Everything I'd hoped for since I was an art-addled teen. Rather like the Tate Modern in its scope and style, but I also had the most outrageous lunch. Such a posh mushroom chowder (looked like chocolate sauce!), followed by a cofee sundae and a posh champagne passionfruit cocktail - my one sin of the week!!!

I tried to go up the Empire State afterwards - my old dream to eb there at night on my birthday! - and there was zero visibility. Puh. Story of my life. Am going tomorrow instead. The other story of
Me in Times SquareMe in Times SquareMe in Times Square

Tired and bedazzled
my life is that I keep bloody trying.

Anyway, I have no idea how I'm going to spend my last day here tomorrow. Am getting exhausted - and increasingly poor! May or may not have access to computer in Cocoa Beach - depends on laptop situation - so I may write again next when I reach Miami (next Friday).

I don't know how my mind is going to accept all these experiences. I have five and a half weeks to go - including NASA and the White House.

So I leave you, swathed in my first New York rain, unable to see past tomorrow.






Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Times SquareTimes Square
Times Square

Doing what it does best


Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 50; dbt: 0.072s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb