Everybody Loves...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Brooklyn
July 12th 2010
Published: July 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Ray & Debra Barone's houseRay & Debra Barone's houseRay & Debra Barone's house

No signs telling you this is the home in the TV show - but as I've found recently, not many "famous" homes have signs in front of them.
Temperatures are still hot - but it's summer and expected. I think the news people don't go into the subways at all, otherwise they'd talk about it a bit more realistically. If it's hot "upstairs" it's hotter down in the subway, with the only breezes coming from the express trains that pass by as you wait for the local train. It's become a welcomed breeze actually - even if its warm, it's still air moving. If the trains don't pass by, the only thing that's moving is the sweat dripping down your forehead. But, its NY - I love it. I don't love the heat rash that is still hanging around, but it gets better day by day.

Over the weekend, I took a trip on the Long Island Railroad to meet up with Jeannie and Christian. It was definately different than taking the subway, but overall a good and fast trip. Once out there, I had one request (that I'd made a few times before, but someone always thought I was joking...) - there were two houses I wanted to visit. After seeing them on TV in re-runs for the past several years, I wanted to see them in
Frank & Marie Barone's houseFrank & Marie Barone's houseFrank & Marie Barone's house

Not sure where Robert's apartment building is though, or the pizza place they frequent.
person. So, the girls took a trip, while the guys stayed behind to watch the Mets game. Eight miles later, there we were... In Lynbrook, where the show takes place? - No. Actually these houses are in Merrick. Nonetheless, it is the right block, right houses - and there I am! Its Debra and Ray Barone's house from "Everybody Loves Raymond." ...and Frank and Marie's house across the street.

Olive is refusing to use the backyard to do her business - she jumps and barks at me until I take her down the block to the three feet of grass along the edge of Green-Wood cemetary. She does like to go outside in the backyard to watch the kids swimming in the small pool next door. She's also discovered a slight hole in the dirt near the fence and under a bush that Murray must have dug. Murray is the dog that lives here usually. Olive has over the past few days though, become a true NY dog - she's peed on leaves on the sidewalk.

I drove around quite a bit of Brooklyn today. I had to move my car for street cleaning, so I took advantage
Olive's 3 foot patch of grassOlive's 3 foot patch of grassOlive's 3 foot patch of grass

This is her premium choice, the edge of Green-Wood cemetary.
of the time. I loaded up the laundry and stopped at the laundromat first, then proceed on my exploration. Driving here isn't so bad really - it's just like Chicago, except you can't make a right hand turn on a red light, which is a hard adjustment. I honked my horn today at someone who stopped in the middle of 5th Avenue for no good reason. The neighborhoods here definately have a different vibe. They all have similarities like no front lawns and having at least three garbage cans in front of the buildings. I could tell I was in a different neighborhood when all of the homes were brick, while another was filled with all sided homes, or a mixture of both, like my block. The homes along the edge of Prospect Park are really nice, yet taller than others. Perhaps all of Park Slope is that way? - they appear to be 4-story walk-ups. It's rare to see a new building, unlike in Chicago where there are new homes and condos

Could I make this a permanent home? So far, yes. There are no lawns to mow, so that is a check plus in my book, although a little bit of grass in a backyard would be ideal - just enought that I could use an old school lawn mower that requires no gas or electricity, just a few steps around the yard and you're done in less than 10 minutes. The one thing I'm really missing is central air conditioning. No one here has central air and everyone is fine with being confined to bedroom-only AC. It's a bit odd really.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Un-centered street lightsUn-centered street lights
Un-centered street lights

Another pain in the neck to get acquainted with.
The view from 28th St. and 4th Ave.The view from 28th St. and 4th Ave.
The view from 28th St. and 4th Ave.

Walking home, I saw this - what a great view!


15th July 2010

WOW!!!!!
Hi Lynn, These photos are really good, the view from 28th St and 4th Ave is really neat, I think that is God standing on top of those buildings, he's watching over you. Thank You for the update again. Maybe Olive likes the cemetary cause she smells dead people? You know the movie statement; I see dead people? Do you see any places that are being renovated? You know that in Chgo. they are always renovating something, or some place to make it better. I'm really enjoying this, Thanks. Love You, Mom

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb