Stairway to...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Brooklyn
July 6th 2010
Published: July 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The difference, as stated on the local news this afternoon, between the NYC Subways and hell is that if you're in the subways, you can always walk up! Yes, that's right it's HOT here... so hot that it's breaking the nine year record. It reached 103 degrees in Central Park, my phone registered 102 at the hottest. There are lots of advisories in place - unplug unused electronics, run your appliances after 10 pm, drink water, etc. etc. I ventured out to Target to pick up some groceries... at first, you don't think it's so bad, but then the sweat starts coming. Actually, I believe my eyebrows are on strike. As I tell the kids when they're learning how to draw a face in correct proportion.... your eyebrows are strategically placed above your eyes to keep sweat from dripping into them when you're hot. Their sole purpose is to assist in providing protection to your eyes. ....NOT MINE. Sweat burns when it drips into your eye and its especially horrible when you're trying to walk up the stairs to exit hell and get home.

Last night, I went to the Mets game at the new Citi Field. Unfortunately they lost 8-6, but it was a good game - and if the umpires would have been doing their job correctly, I think the Mets would have won. In the middle of the game there was a big argument over a horrid call... Apparently these umpires never heard of the "home field advantage." There was a Mets homerun though - so the jack-in-the-box style apple popped up from center field. I did buy Olive her own NY Mets stuffed apple that she's in love with and didn't want to stop chasing it around after her customary 10 minute chew. I also got a new t-shirt for myself with Mr. Met on it - so that for the next game I'll be prepared. Our seats, thanks to John, were in prime foul ball territory down the 1st base line. I came close to catching one - it ended up across the stairs, and the guy behind me grabbed it and gave it to his son, sitting next to him. He said to his son, "you hang onto that and don't lose it. Do you know how many baseball games I've been to in my life? - A lot. Do you know how many
Me and JeannieMe and JeannieMe and Jeannie

Let's Go Mets!
foul balls I've caught? - Just that one. So, don't lose that ball." Later they were discussing the dirt and spit on the ball - which adds to its character and authenticity. It was pyrotechnics night after the game. In Chicago we call that fireworks night, right Dad? They don't do this often in NY, but because it was the 4th of July holiday - it was time to bring out the big guns. Fireworks were rolled out on large carts onto the field and a few big smoke machines - which I didn't quite understand. The show started - and well, it was amazing! Nothing like what we have in Chicago - sorry Dad, but you need to make it to NY for these baseball fireworks! The fireworks were set off from all around the top of the stadium. They were in sync to music and at times started on one side, ended on the other - like the customary baseball bleacher wave. ...and parking was only $19, as opposed to $22 in the Republic of Daley.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



9th July 2010

Hello!
Hi, please say hi to Jeannie, she looks great, and so do you. Olive is such a cutie, and she's eating the Mets? How cool is that? I'm really enjoying the photos, and I've been telling you for years to journal, these aren't as good as some of your work stories, but them what is? Please be careful and know I love you, Mom PS. Give the baby a hug and kiss for me.
11th July 2010

Hot Times
Bailey, is it really as hot there as CNN would have it? When I'm stepping out of our hotel here in Bangkok, I barely make it to the corner before sweat is drizzling down my temples and soaking my shirt. Hope you're having a blast friend! -John

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb