Day 1 in NY


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Brooklyn
August 24th 2009
Published: August 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello Travelblog! This is my second attempt at writing this as I think the laptop I have bought with me is even worse than mine. I’m in New York now, East Williamsburg to be precise at the New York Loft Hostel - It seems to be some old converted warehouses and is pretty nice but the air conditioning is very loud.

My flight over was pretty good except coming down to land which was a bit like being on Oblivion at Alton Towers(Apparently there was a hurricane in Maine), I watched some IT Crowd as well as Wolverine on the plane, but was sat with businessmen who weren’t very friendly. When we arrived at Newark I had to wait almost an hour to get through immigration and I think the US government now have at least 4 sets of my fingerprints. I thought it would be a cost effective idea to get the train and then the subway to my hostel - meaning I’d get to see some of New York as well. I got some strange cable car to the train station and got on a double decker train to NY Penn Station, where it was so hot and humid I could have been in Borneo or somewhere.

After finding my way out of the station I walked 1 block to the subway during which time I bumped into 2 different people whilst looking up at the buildings - I’m not sure what I was looking at but they were huge! The ticket machine ate my coins so I had to then go back upstairs to get a ticket and then got a subway to 14st Street to change to the L train to get to Morgan Av. , Brooklyn which was then a 5 minute walk from my hostel. It all sounds simple enough but with 40kg of luggage that I had to carry up and down stairs it was exhausting - especially as my whole journey took 14 hours from MK to the hostel.

I checked in and briefly tried to access facebook before the internet died - I’m typing this on MS Word as I can’t get online right now. In the short 5 minute walk to the hostel I saw more graffiti/street art than I’ve seen in the rest of my life - this area seems to be full of bars/cafes too and is supposedly home to many an artist/musician.

I’m just about to get the subway back to Manhattan to look at all the big tourist attractions - Empire State Building, Times Square, Ground Zero and to try and find some food as well!


Advertisement



25th August 2009

:)

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb