Long time, no see...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » Long Island
April 24th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The White HouseThe White HouseThe White House

See if you can spot the snipers on the roof.
Sorry it's been so long since I last wrote on this! I promise I haven't been lazy - it's just been impossible getting on a computer for anything other than Greyhound/hostel/hotel booking recently. We were reduced to using the local Holiday Inn last week to book stuff - we even managed to use their shuttle (yay my being so tight with money!) rather than forking out for a taxi.

It doesn't look like we've been far since I last wrote (NY to Long Island!) but we have been to Washington DC and Chantilly, Virginia in between (and Maryland on an impromptu bus stop. There were no cookies). We only actually made it into DC today because of the ridiculous transportation costs otherwise. It was good though (and I'm getting arm muscles from all this backpack carrying. I'm not loving the bag yet though, Kieran!) and the weather was really good (ha!). Tbh a bit too hot with the bag and all, but mustn't grumble!

I saw the Brooklyn Bridge and Ground Zero on my last day in NYC - both very interesting. If I get time I'll put pictures up.

I finally made it to Taco Bell the other day - was a little disapointed but I think I expected too much. I'm sure it'll get better when I know what the hell I'm ordering. These Americans never understand us either! Will give examples when I have more time.

We played lots of cards outside our apartment in Virginia, was nice and peaceful. And we got a cool free movie channel (the supermarket was superior too, mum!).

We managed to see all the monuments in Washington DC today, all very impressive. There was also a mean bus driver on the way back (not mean to me, just very starnge about people taking when he is and using cellphones).

Today we also tried Coke with added vitamins. How strange - didn't taste any healthier. Made up for the pizza that went with it though, definitely.

Yay, Florida tomorrow!!

Advertisement



24th April 2007

you two are doing well.
Wow you two have managed to get to so many places already, you must be absolulty shattered! It sounds like you are having a fab time. I am very much looking forward to the examples of when Americans have not been able to understand you. I hope the journey to Florida goes well. xxxxx
24th April 2007

Haha, I'm afraid I won't believe Coke can be good for you! If anything the pizza made up for the Coke...:P
29th April 2007

wishful thinking?!
These Americans add vitamins to everything! Very strange.

Tot: 0.246s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 79; dbt: 0.182s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb