Now at "The City of Rocks" New Mexico


Advertisement
Published: June 10th 2013
Edit Blog Post


We left Balmorhea at 8:30AM, CDT, I-10/20 split 9:00AM and continued on I-10. At 9:50 we changed to MDT; uhoh, now it’s 8:50 MDT. Paralleled the Mexican border/Rio Grande river for many miles and through El Paso at 10:30 MDT. Juarez Mexico close up, could see the border fence. Crossed the Rio Grande at 12:10, not so ‘Grande’ at this point. At 12:30 PM, MDT we were stopped by Border Patrol on I-10 in N.M. but not searched, waved on. Arrived at the “City of Rocks State Park” at 3:10PM, CDT, temp 103 degrees. (Hot Rocks) “A Dry Heat” lol Like a blow dryer in your face! After the sun went behind the rocks it cooled down and was Very Nice!




Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Stopped by the Border PatrolStopped by the Border Patrol
Stopped by the Border Patrol

I-10 West Bound????
Waved ONWaved ON
Waved ON

They were looking inside Vans and Cars but waived us on because we could only hold 50 illegals in the travel trailer.....???


10th June 2013

Enjoying the trip
Love traveling with you two!
10th June 2013

I need some rocks!
Could you just smuggle me some rocks for my garden? They have plenty, wouldn't miss them! Those are some amazing sunsets, I must say...
10th June 2013

Looking Good!
Made it to New Mexico I see. Looks great! I have been following your blog as you move west in between my rally hosting duties. Tonight is pizza night. I had to call the pizza place (domino's) and order 16 large pizzas, boy am I tired. Have fun on your journey and we really enjoy the pictures and updates. Oh, and those rocks there in New Mexcio, we call them pebbles and sand here in Texas. HI HI
10th June 2013

That White Hawk looks good.
Hey we went on the Jayco tour today. Got some good pictures of the plant which are on Snapfish. Sent you a link. Now is that what you are doing called "Dry Camping"
10th June 2013

No Dry Camping on this Trip
Sounds good John and I'll check out the link. Slowly moving west then after next stop (Tombstone) we will start going north. Dry camping is with no hookups and that wouldn't work for this trip. No A/C at 103 degrees would be tough.. lol It is hot but the mornings and evenings are just wonderful as you can see on the pics. Talk again soon, keep having fun. Will and Marge

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0257s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb