August 17, 2015 - Monday


Advertisement
Published: August 18th 2015
Edit Blog Post

We went to Odessa last weekend for our brother-in-law's funeral in Odessa. A funeral is always a sad occasion, but it is nice anyway to get to see family there. The deceased was Wayne Brashier, Les' sister, Lori's husband. Lori seems to be doing very well. I know the days and weeks to come will be difficult, but Wayne is no longer in pain. Lori, more than anyone else, is relieved to see his battle over.

One our way to Odessa, we found a tow dolly on Craig's list. We called and come to find out, it was for sale at Big Tex Trailers, where our friend Darrell Thornton works. We were able to seal the deal by phone and we picked it up the next day after the funeral. We are relieved to have that little chore taken care of.

While in West Texas I got to see my daughters and all of my grandkids and greats too. The only one we were missing was Emmie. I think she was at her dad's. It sure was good to see everyone.

On Sunday we went to church in Midland at Fannin and got to see our church family. I sure enjoyed sitting in with Mr. Rick for Sunday school. I sure love those babies. We went to lunch with the Amen group.

Afterwards we went to the Hudson's to pick up our mail and for Les to get their vehicle ready so that they can bring the tow dolly to us this week when they come for the Oil City Sam's campout.

We didn't get out of town until 4:30 on Sunday. But we made it back to Ruidoso. We sure were glad to get back to this cooler weather. This evening we've been having a nice thunderstorm. Les grilled pork chops for dinner. As we sat eating dinner, we had the door open and got to enjoy the sound of the thunder & rain.

Frances & Ben Schultz made it to Ruidoso this afternoon. They came over before dinner and came down to see our motorhome. They will be here for 8 nights. We majority of the club will be in Thurs. Walter & Thelma (Les' parents) are due to come in tomorrow or Wednesday.

I don't know if I've really mentioned this, but we are staying at the Circle B RV park. It is really nice. We got a good rate by staying a month ($20 a day). It's more by the day or week, but really a bargain by the month.

We brought another load of stuff back with us from Odessa. Today I've been trying to figure out where to put everything. We are pretty much maxed out. But we have about everything we need. As a matter of fact, we may end up taking a few things back to storage that we don't really need.

I'm loving retirement. I'm bad about staying up late and then sleeping in. But I guess since I'm retired I can do that if I want to. The only regret is that I'm sleeping thru the cool morning temps here. I should be getting up and sitting outside drinking coffee and watching the hummingbirds while it's cool. Maybe I'll try that someday, but no promises.

We've got a busy week coming up. We've got to get some laundry done tomorrow. Thurs night after the group is here we are having a hamburger cookout. Friday we are going to Cree Meadow for catfish. Then Saturday we are going to Circle "J". It will be a fun weekend. I'm looking forward to all of these activities with the OCS group.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb