Pecos Wilderness/Stewart Lake


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico » Pecos
July 27th 2008
Published: July 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Pecos

Just an over view of where were were. This map doesn't show the trails, only the locations of where we parked, Stewart Lake and where the trail head ended at the Cowles camp ground. From there it's about a mile back to where we were parked.

Love those AspensLove those AspensLove those Aspens

I could have just camped here...
This was my first back packing trip! I was told I was not allowed to use the term "Death March", so I won't! Actually I had a great time and saw
some beautiful country and wild life. The trip started about 1 mile North of the Cowles camp ground and ended at the camp ground. We hiked in on
Friday and back out on Sunday. I'm sure it was an easy hike for my buddy Curtis but by the time we reached Stewart Lake, I was done! But, needless
to say, it was well worth it. I can't wait to go back. Maybe next time, we'll go up to Lake Katherine.
We couldn't have asked for better weather. The light, on again off again rain made the trip up as pleasant as you could want. Nice and cool at night and
warm enough during the day to shed your jacket.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Starting outStarting out
Starting out

Easy part of the trail.
AspensAspens
Aspens

My favorite part of the hike.
SignsSigns
Signs

Just in case Curt can't use a topo map..
Stewart LakeStewart Lake
Stewart Lake

From the other end
CampCamp
Camp

View of the lake from Camp.
CampCamp
Camp

Curt's tent up on the hill. I tend to snore....
CampCamp
Camp

My little tent.
Back downBack down
Back down

Curt doing his very poor Clint Eastwood..
Santa Fe BaldySanta Fe Baldy
Santa Fe Baldy

Santa Fe Baldy. Zoomed in quite a bit for this one. Still snow up on top.
WildlifeWildlife
Wildlife

This doe had a very young fawn following her. In this shot she stopped after crossing the trail and was waiting for the fawn to catch up.
Pecos RiverPecos River
Pecos River

Still a stream this far up. It becomes a very beautiful river just a mile or two down stream.
End of the trailEnd of the trail
End of the trail

This is where the trail head starts/stops. By this point, my feet were killing me and I had begun to use that term I was forbidden to use. "Death March"
GorgeousGorgeous
Gorgeous

Just jaw dropping beautiful here.
MarshMarsh
Marsh

One end of a large marsh behind the lake.


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb