Failure to launch Friday morning


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico » Albuquerque
October 7th 2011
Published: October 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Friday Oct 7 - balloon fest morning
I went to the event and the traffic was light. I paid $10 for parking but got in free because they were unsure of if they would have any events. I sat in the rain, walked around the field in the rain and walked past all the venues in the rain.
Fortunately I have a good rain coat and water resistant boots.
The rain stopped for a while and the balloonist drove their trucks out onto the field but waited to set them up. After a while the announcer said that the balloonist were leaving but we could give blood if we wished and get a "I donated blood pin". It started raining again so I left around 0800. I heard that the weather is supposed to be good for this evening launch. I sure hope so.
They are supposed to have fireworks as well tonight.
Friday Evening:
Friday afternoon I decided to drive up "The Turquoise trail" from Albuquerque to Santa Fe. It was kinda cool but not as great as it is made out to be. I arrived in Santa Fe and found a MacDonalds and sent out some emails and
caught up on my facebook page some. Then I drove back south of Santa Fe to a rest area on the east side of the freeway to get some rest and get up in time to go to the morning events at the balloon fest on Saturday.
The date on the pictures is showing Oct 6 but it was the 7th


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb