Day 15 of Road Trip to the Southwest - Balloon Ride at Albuquerque


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico » Albuquerque
December 30th 2005
Published: January 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post




Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Setting Up the balloonsSetting Up the balloons
Setting Up the balloons

The crew started to set up the ballons.
Testing the gas burnerTesting the gas burner
Testing the gas burner

My balloon pilot - Mike - was testing the gas burner, which would heat up the air in the balloon in order for it to ascend.
Pumping air into the balloonPumping air into the balloon
Pumping air into the balloon

Two big fans were used to pump air into the balloon for it to inflate.
Balloons are getting up one by oneBalloons are getting up one by one
Balloons are getting up one by one

One by one, balloons were getting up after the air inside was heated to certain degree.
Balloons were ready to take offBalloons were ready to take off
Balloons were ready to take off

Ballons were fully inflated and were ready to take off...
Watching the balloon inflacting 1Watching the balloon inflacting 1
Watching the balloon inflacting 1

Kids attentions were captivated by the huge inflating balloon. See the small figure inside the balloon. That was the pilot. You can have a feel on how big the ballon was by this scale.
Watching the balloon inflacting 2Watching the balloon inflacting 2
Watching the balloon inflacting 2

Kids attentions were captivated by the huge inflating balloon.
My ride startedMy ride started
My ride started

The moment before the take off...
In the airIn the air
In the air

The take off was so smooth that I didn't even aware that I was in the air until I looked down. Here was a view from my balloon to other balloons that were also taking off at the same time.
Taking OffTaking Off
Taking Off

Inside view of the balloon at take off...
Our Balloon PilotOur Balloon Pilot
Our Balloon Pilot

This is Mike, our balloon pilot! He was great!
Calvin in the airCalvin in the air
Calvin in the air

Did I look like a balloon pilot?
Views from the balloon 1Views from the balloon 1
Views from the balloon 1

Beautiful views from the hot air balloon that I was riding on.
Views from the balloon 2Views from the balloon 2
Views from the balloon 2

Beautiful views from the hot air balloon that I was riding on.
Views from the balloon 3Views from the balloon 3
Views from the balloon 3

Beautiful views from the hot air balloon that I was riding on.
Views from the balloon 4Views from the balloon 4
Views from the balloon 4

Beautiful views from the hot air balloon that I was riding on.
Views from the balloon 5Views from the balloon 5
Views from the balloon 5

Beautiful views from the hot air balloon that I was riding on.
Views from the balloon 6Views from the balloon 6
Views from the balloon 6

Beautiful views from the hot air balloon that I was riding on.
Views from the balloon 7Views from the balloon 7
Views from the balloon 7

Beautiful views from the hot air balloon that I was riding on.
Views from the balloon 8Views from the balloon 8
Views from the balloon 8

Beautiful views from the hot air balloon that I was riding on.


10th January 2006

Cadillac Ranch
I've never seen anything like that. I'm glad they painted so much pink on the cars. Otherwise I think it would look more like graffiti than the current almost tie-died current look.

Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb