The Begining or A good place to start


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Jersey » Newark » EWR
October 6th 2008
Published: October 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Location: Presidental Club in Newark Airport
Song: Viva La Vida by cold play (my offical vacation theme song)

Its been 6 years since I was in Europe, and to be honest not a day has gone by that i haven't missed it. there is just something about that place that seems to call to me. i can't read enough books about it, or watch enough travel shows about it. Europe seems to have a little bit of everything i like in life. A wonderful and old history, amazing culture lit, art and music a love of soccer, and even good food and drinks! what more could you ask for?
This time I am off to Sweden with a lovely splash of Denmark! Every time i have told someone i am going to sweden they give me this strange look and ask why, so here are the reasons to go to Sweden/Denmark: (of course in no particularorder)

1.) The nordic countries have some of the highest literacy rates in the world and the best health care and free university
2.) To see my friends who just crack me up all the time and are so wonderful!
3.) my freaky obession with Hamlet.
4.) My great great grandfather was from Sweden. and I am named after my great great grandmother from Norway.
5.) It's not Canada!
6.) Its "new" buildings are older then our "old" ones.
7.) in sweden courtyard is not followed by Marriot.
8.) My dad has not been to sweden! a country that I will have to tell him about!
9.) add to the list of "places i have been to with freaky statues" (manikin pis in Brussles and the National Monument in Amsterdamn, now i can add the little mermaid in Copenhagen.)
10.) VIKINGS!!!! how can you not want to go to the birth area of the most feared loathsome group of warriors in the world!

SO there you have it. I expect you all to be rushing to buy your tickets to the Land of Pickled Herring and Vikings! Its actualy a beautiful place, look up photos and you will be amazed. from the towns that look like they were frozen in time to the amazing scenery that is spread out from the northen snow coverd lands to the green hills of the southern land.

Here I am, with 5 hours to go.....so excited and ready! once on the plane it will be nice, i can go to sleep and wake up when i get there. First thing i am doing is going to have a danish hot dog and a beer! I can't wait! SWEDEN YOUR LONG LOST DAUGHTER IS ON HER WAY!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0638s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb