Oh should it stay or should it go?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Jersey » Mount Laurel
September 13th 2019
Published: September 14th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Today I did a quick 5 miler - boring, mainly on roads. I think it’s the last hike I can squeeze in before leaving on Tuesday. Got back to my office by 9 and ticked off a bunch of things on my checklist.

This evening I checked things in my pack against my list. Pack organization is a big part of these hikes. Every ounce of weight adds up to a toll on your back and people go to crazy lengths to save weight (e.g. sawing off the handle on their toothbrush.). At the same time, you need to squeeze everything you need into the pack. Though we’re staying in pensions and hotels (not camping) days can be quite warm and evenings chilly, so it’s important to pack accordingly.

While I bought some (expensive) compression bags when we hiked the Camino Frances, I discovered zip lock 1 gallon Hefty freezer bags did as well. You put your stuff if, squeeze the air out, zip the zip lock and voila! Good to go. I fit an Arcteryx light fiberfill jacket and two long-sleeved shirts in one 1 gallon Hefty freezer bag.

Interestingly, the heaviest thing in my pack is my toiletries bag. Between shampoo, skin cream, first aid stuff, vitamins and supplements, it comes to 2.5 lbs. Overall, the pack is 17 lbs and that doesn’t include my indispensable Brierly guide to the Camino Portugues, my iPhone, charger, and earphones.

Every time I put on my pack, I praise the engineers who designed the Osprey Kyte to fit small women like me, carrying most of the weight on our hips. This is the pack I’ve seen women carrying most often on the Camino — if you build it, they will come!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.309s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb