Home, thrilling


Advertisement
Published: June 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Oh hello.

This update is going to suck because I'm tired and pissed off, but I decided I needed to finish off the trip.

Went from Alabama where I left my pillow to Atlanta, Georgia. Saw some cool things like the city and Stone Mountain, which is the south's version of Mount Rushmore. I can't decide if having a monument to Lee, Davis, and Jackson is cool or kind of strange. I won't go any further.

Stayed with the Newby family in Georgia and they were awesome. I really enjoyed having the home cooked meal, and they were extremely nice. Left Georgia early in the morning, stopped in SC to see Uncle Jared and get adjusted, continued on to Durham, NC where we had pizza with Manny. Made it to the DC area around 8:30 and stayed with Henri's friend Maija's family, also excellent people. One of my best parts about this trip was meeting so many friendly people. My faith was kind of restored in humanity (then I came home and that was destroyed, of course).

Left DC around 7:30am and were told we'd hit a massive amount of traffic. However, we magically hit no traffic and returned to Lake Hopatcong around 12:30pm on Friday. This gave me enough time to shower and do some laundry, because I needed to catch a train to Boston in roughly 3 hours. Atieh came over, we managed to get the 3:26pm train out of Dover to Penn Station, New York.

Got into NYC, I had pizza because I was starving, then we met Amanda's friend Sam at Fridays to kill time before the train to Boston. Got the 7pm train to Boston, arrived at 10:37pm, had a fantastic weekend. I'm not going to get into it because a) my computer battery is dying and b) I don't want to make anyone jealous, but chances are I had a better weekend than you did. DMB at Fenway was magical, look up the set list and be jealous. Lex and Ryan are awesome. We went on a free boat. This reminds me that I am lucky to have such great extended family members.

Took the trains home today, Pam was nice enough to pick me and Amanda up at the Dover station around 9:40pm even though she's pissed because it's been brought to my attention that I live with a moron, as if I didn't know this already.

A quick summary to the trip, it was life changing. I drove across the country in 19 days then continued up to Boston. I hit something ridiculous like 33 states in 20 days. I saw things that some people will never see in their lives. It's really eye opening, and makes you realize what is and isn't important in life. I know this is really corny, but some of the best parts of the trip were enjoying the scenery going by en route to our destinations, which is probably some lame metaphor for life but it's true. There's so much out there in the world, that it makes issues like not being able to move my bed down to school because there is no longer a vehicle to move it with seem not as huge, because I just saw things like Mount Rushmore and Las Vegas and the Badlands and Chicago and everything in the past 3 weeks. I think people should be required to go on a trip like this. You also learn a lot about yourself, because you're required to be introspective (did I make that up?), cause there's only so much you can do in a car before you run out of things to do, thus analyzing your life and your behavior take place at some point. I am happy that I'm willing to do something like this, because it is trying being in a car for so long, not sleeping in the same place, being away from home with really nobody else. It's much different than college, because there are so many things that could go wrong. I'm proud of myself for being willing to try new things and generally be accepting of everything--I have become so much more open minded since high school, and it showed on this trip. My level of patience has also skyrocketed. One bonus is that now if someone tells me I have to wait an hour for something, it won't seem long at all haha. Alright, I'm done being serious for now. Back to reality tomorrow morning--Celgene here I come. LATER.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb