First Stop...Busch Stadium


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Missouri » St Louis
September 25th 2008
Published: October 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

St. Louis CardinalsSt. Louis CardinalsSt. Louis Cardinals

Sign outside Busch Stadium
Suggested Listening for this Entry: Anything by St. Louis native son Chuck Berry

Suggested Foor and Drink for this Entry: A grilled sausage of your choosing (Italian, Brat, Polish) on a bun and a Budweiser (because you won't find any Miller products at Busch Stadium).

After the previous evening's scares of non-starting jet engines and the Hampton Inn-Union Station in St. Louis not having the room I reserved (not mentioned earlier), I was ready for a new day. A day with baseball and beer. After picking up my rental tank, I mean SUV, and dropping it off at the hotel, I headed to the new Busch Stadium. I was very anxious to see how it compared to Nationals Park, home of my beloved Washington Nationals, one of the worst teams in baseball.

Plus, I was hoping my seats, which I knew were somewhere down the 3rd base line, were close enough to the field for me to heckle Felipe Lopez. Lopez, who finished the season with the Cardinals, had been playing for the Nats up until the trading deadline when the Nationals released his pouting, non-hustling, trouble making, .240 hitting, non-fielding a** and the Cards signed him. Of
Jack Buck Welcomes MeJack Buck Welcomes MeJack Buck Welcomes Me

As I was passing by, Jack asked me why his son Joe turned out to be such a self righteous tool.
course after the Nats released him, he hit something like .360 with the Cards. All the more reason for me to ride him. I was planning to steal my friend Marty's line from earlier in the season at Nats Park, "Felipe Lopez, no me gusta, aye, aye, aye." I was going to be brilliant with my borrowed line. Needless to say, my seats were at the back of the lower deck. So, Lopez and the good people of St. Louis were spared my rants.

At gametime, I was in my shaded (thankfully) seats with a 24 oz. draft beer which sold for $8.50 hard earned American dollars and ready for some baseball. The game actually wasn't much of one. The Cards hit early and often in route to an 11-3 victory over the Diamonbacks. And of course, my boy Felipe went 3 for 5. But, I still "no me gusta" him and I digress....

The game started at 1:15 in what is commonly known as a business man's special. To my surprise, I had a working girl...wait..that came out the wrong way....I had a professional...no, still not right.......let's start again. Sitting next to me was a woman who
Shelter SignShelter SignShelter Sign

I have always thought of the bathroom as a shelter, as do most men. Glad to see St. Louis agrees.
was taking advantage of the business man's special and working at the game while slugging beers. She would watch a team's at bat, then read some materials she had with her and answer emails on her Blackberry between innings. By the time her husband showed up in the 5th ininng, the business woman had a little buzz working. Enough so, she joined me in riding her husband about being a Cubs fan at a Cards game. And, by that time, I had consumed at least a couple of those oversized Anheuser-Busch products, so I thought this very nice couple should hear about the issues I have with Felipe Lopez. They humored me and ragged me about the Nationals off and on for the rest of the game. So, I guess we came out even.

My quick review of Busch Stadium is that it's a very nice, modern park. It's very similar to Nationals Park, or I should say Nationals Park is very similar to Busch Stadium. But, the brick construction of the stadium gives it a touch of Camden Yards. That, along with the feel of St. Louis makes for a more pleasant experience than the more vanilla Nats
Big Mac, Huh?Big Mac, Huh?Big Mac, Huh?

So that's how McGwire hit all those dingers...eating at McDonalds
Park. And, the St. Louis fans definitely love the Cards and know baseball.

On to visit the Mad Hungarian's......








Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Hmmm....Hmmm....
Hmmm....

You gotta love a town with loose slots....
Shedd & Stan the ManShedd & Stan the Man
Shedd & Stan the Man

Stan Musial lets me pose in front of him.


Tot: 0.208s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.1672s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb